View cart background image
0
items
Get Timely and Delicious Recipe Updates
 

One-Dish Chicken & Rice (Asopao de Pollo)


Source: © EatingWell Magazine
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  13   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
Rating: 5
by: Aurelio, PR Reviewed: 03/07/2013
Puerto Rican Asopao
The real Puerto Rican Chicken Stew is mild but you can make it as rich as your pocket is . It takes a few more dollars to make it better some Good Goya products such as Olive Oil,capers,olives,Saffron,Sea Salt, make a good soup with whole sweet pepper such as allspice,good Italian tomatoes,Goya spanish style tomatoes,Laurel leave,onions,green peppers,garlic ,thyme. And it could be used to make the following dishes a wet Arroz con Pollo more Cuban Style as almost a Rissotto, or rather dry PR styl
5 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Richard Reviewed: 02/21/2013
Yikes!
This makes A LOT! Be sure & use a 5-qt casserole pot or Dutch oven as it will be full. Used 4 cups homemade chicken stock and 4 cups water. Also canned tomatoes. Did not have brown rice so substituted basmati white. Rice soaked up all sauce. Perhaps should use less rice if substituting for brown rice? Also used Anaheim peppers - were mild.
7 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: kathleen Reviewed: 02/20/2013
flavorless
I also used 8 cups of chicken broth rather than just water. The spices could have been easily tripled and more chicken needs to be added. I will not be making this again.
8 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Arthur Reviewed: 02/20/2013
Give Me a Break
Whoever came up with this recipe should be sentenced to a week in cooking school. This tastes like water unless you take serious measures. One teaspoon of salt in 8 cups of water plus a pile of meat, rice, and vegetables? At minimum the water should be chicken stock. I had to add 2 kinds of hot sauce, thyme, 4X the salt, chicken bouillon, pepper, dried parsley, dried tomatoes, and a few things I've forgotten to get this to be minimally successful. A dish to forget.
10 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Joanne, NY Reviewed: 02/19/2013
Very good!
Tried this tonight, both my hubby and I agreed it's a keeper. I added some garlic (I'm Italian, so I can't help myself). I also cut back the rice to 1 1/2 cups and 5 cups of liquid b/c it would be too much rice for two people otherwise. I also had a little annato powder and added a tsp of that to color the broth some more. I gave it a kick w/hot peppers b/c that's how I roll, I like it spicy. The rice was cooked through and it was still moist with a little liquid visible, as we like it.
10 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: NOLAN, OK Reviewed: 02/18/2013
Wrong!!!!
This is NOT asopao from Puerto Rico. Use the book Cocina Criolla for
7 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Elba Reviewed: 01/08/2012
asopao de pollo
I find it very disturbing that when you post a puertoriis not mexican ciscan recipe, you add as one of the ingredients poblano or Anaheim peppers. Puertorican cooking is different in spices than Mexican cooking. We do not use any type of fiery peppers. Poblano or Anaheim peppers is not in our culture. Our food is well seasoned but mild, we use regular green peppers and/or Italian peppers. Please check the recipe before post in it to the public.
32 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Nicole, WY Reviewed: 10/17/2011
Top notch!
This is a great dish. We used 2.5lb chicken breasts, and a 14 oz can of diced tomatoes with some cherry tomatoes thrown in as well. It sat well in the oven to keep it warm until we were ready to serve it to guests.
13 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Arlina Reviewed: 04/06/2010
This is the Best!!! Just as remember my Grandmother and mom making it..Thank you for the recipe Its hard to find original taste....I am from Ponce,PR..mom from Yauco .Dad from Sabana Grande,PR I am stuck in Austin,Texas.
12 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Wayne Reviewed: 01/20/2010
Great Recipe
My wife and I made this recipe yesterday with the following changes. My wife likes white meat so I substiuted 1.5 pounds boneless chicken breast along with 1 pound boneless chicken thighs. We also substiuted 1 14oz can of chopped tomatoes for the tomato. We can't get good tomatoes in Wisconsin in the winter. The recipe was great my wife and I would give it 5 cups. Wayne Witkowski
15 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  13   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You