View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping Over $49
Culinary Escape to Spain
Get Timely and Delicious Recipe Updates
 

Guacamole


Source: Casual Cuisines of the World - Cantina
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  12   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
Rating: 5
by: Norma Reviewed: 01/23/2013
Very good recipe, poor explanation...
You are right saying that the word Avocado comes from the Nahuatl language, but Ahuacatl, translates as Testicle, and Molli translates as Sauce, any sauce tha the ancients used to prepare. Also, you don't call the natives of any country Indians, unless they are from the country of India. Mexican ethnias can be called natives, indigenous, or just by their group.
15 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Brian Reviewed: 01/23/2013
Pit Weirdness
Storing the avocado pit in the mash for storage to keep it from browning is a myth. A light bulb would do the same thing--that is, keep the air/oxygen away from it. Just secure with the wrap touching the surface and it will be fine. Sprout the pit instead!
11 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Joseph, NE Reviewed: 01/23/2013
Pits
The recipe works fine. The part about putting the pit in the guacamole to prevent oxidation is an old wives tale, it doesn't accomplish anything at all. Various "test kitchens" have confirmed this. Just put plastic wrap directly ON the surface of the guacamole and make it covers the surface with no air bubbles. Exposure to air is what causes oxidation.
9 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: GARY, KY Reviewed: 01/23/2013
Great guacamole
Wonderful base recipe. I like to add some diced, rinsed & drained pickled nopales and a dash of cumin for a little different flavor.
12 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Lettie, CO Reviewed: 01/23/2013
The Pit problem
You sink the pit down in the guac to keep it from turning brown.
8 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Elaine, PA Reviewed: 01/23/2013
Guacamole
I always had a clove of grated fresh garlic to my guacamole. I also add 1 T of mayonnaise as well; that makes it very creamy.
13 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Lil Reviewed: 06/01/2012
Why the pit?
The recipe sounds great, but my comment is a question. Why poke the pit back into any dip if you are saving it? What's the point? Or, did I miss something?
15 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Louise, CO Reviewed: 06/16/2011
This is the real deal!
This is the same recipe I have been making for years except for the lime juice. That's an American addition to keep it from turning brown, and the flavor is better without it. There is no need for it, since it is gone within 20 minutes of my making it! This is how the guacamole is made for the street tacos served in Mexico.
20 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Elaine, MI Reviewed: 05/28/2011
Guacamole
this is a big hit with freinds and family, it's easy to make and can adjust flavor to suit your taste buds.
15 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Karen Reviewed: 05/26/2011
Perfect Guacamole
This is the real thing. No mayo or sour cream or salad dressing or any other crap added, just authentic guacamole. YUM!
15 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  12   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You