View cart background image
0
items
Get Timely and Delicious Recipe Updates
 

Mile-High Chocolate Layer Cake


Source: Casual Cuisines of the World - Diner
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  7   Viewing: 1 - 7  
Rating: 4
by: Christine Reviewed: 07/23/2013
Frosting Dilemma
I must ask: Does the picture match the recipe? I followed the frosting recipe exactly. Even after 2 hours in the refrigerator, my frosting was nothing more than a thickened liquid. It did not even closely resemble the fluffy frosting shown in the picture. As I assembled the cake and frosting, my layers began to slide around, so I used bamboo skewers to hold them in place. Delicious tasting, but odd looking.
4 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Jean Reviewed: 03/03/2013
I almost choked on this heavy, coarse-crumbed cake
It got stuck in my esophogus and hurt going down! Really any cake can be mile high if you make enough layers. There is no reason to use this recipe. I did not try the icing because I could see the cake didn't look worth icing. I suspect the culprit was the all purpose flour. Unlikely you can make a tender layer cake without using cake flour. My favorite cake cookbook is Rose Levy Beranbaum's Cake Bible. Any basic cake recipe you will ever need is in there.
7 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Sharon, AZ Reviewed: 01/27/2013
Impressive success!
Made this recipe for the first and served it for a large family dinner tonite. A defintie succuess! My only caveat is I would make a recipe and a half of the frosting next itme to have more between the layers. It was easy to make, moist and the frosting is delicious! I was told it looded like "a real baker" had made it (meaning a professional!)
12 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Pamlea, MI Reviewed: 01/20/2013
Might try again
I made this when rushed & I had not made a cake from scratch in years, nor did I have the right size pans. I made the crucial error of thinking that because I could get all the batter into 2 cake pans(easily) that it would be fine. Soon after starting to bake the cakes they spilled over into the oven. Big problem - worse odor ! However the cake actually tasted delicious. It is very rich and could easily be served without any frosting. The frosting was way too rich. would use 1/2 milk , 1/2 dark
11 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: Caryn Reviewed: 01/14/2013
Not very good
The frosting is quite good, but the cake itself was really dry and crumbly. I would not make this again.
15 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Shaiana Reviewed: 03/22/2012
These look amazingly divine. I will surely make these babies... :) By the way have you ever been to Gourmandia? It is a site worth seeing! Try checking it out!
21 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Danley Reviewed: 12/19/2010
Very very very very very good...
I found this recipe on this site about 9 years ago and made it several times. A couple of years went by and I forgot how to make I came back to the site, but I couldn't find the recipe. Now, it's back (since 2008), and I am very very happy to have the recipe again. It is an absolutely wonderful cake. The batter is thick, so I add chocolate chips to it and they don't sink to the bottom. I also put choc chips on top of the icing on top and reice on top of the chips. Absolutely wonderful!
219 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  7   Viewing: 1 - 7  
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You