View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping Over $49
Get Timely and Delicious Recipe Updates
 

All-American Potato Salad


Source: America's Test Kitchen
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  13   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
Rating: 1
by: Ella Reviewed: 07/03/2014
Just like Mom made
The 3 major holidays of the summer(Memorial Day, 4th of July, and Labor Day) were not holidays without homemade potato salad. This is the salad my mother made. It was a realitively simple, quick recipe. You didn't have to go shopping to purchase the ingredients. Back in the 50's/60's people were into basic good food this is it.
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Steel Reviewed: 07/01/2014
Potato Salad
This recipe has too many ingredients and is not a good average recipe for Potato Salad. Most people prefer to make it with less ingredients and in this case less is more.
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: Susan, WI Reviewed: 07/03/2013
All American Potato Salad
I use regular yellow mustard (not powdered), celery salt OR Beau Monde seasoning, granulated onion instead of chopped fresh onion, and equal amounts of white wine vinegar and sugar. Otherwise, my recipe is exactly like this one... and quite good, according to my family. :-)
3 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Karen Reviewed: 07/03/2013
Almost like mom's...
This recipe is almost like my mother's good old fashion recipe. The only change I make when I made this was to use "dill" pickle relish instead of sweet, since I like the tartness as opposed to sweet taste. I also use some of the juice from the pickles in place of the white vinegar for seasoning. This really brings back memories of outdoor picnics as a child.
4 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Colleen Reviewed: 10/02/2012
Add dill and more celery
Its good, not great. Added some dill and doubled the celery. Its lighter than the tradional store bought potatoe salad.
4 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Cindy, NJ Reviewed: 05/28/2012
Great salad
I found this recipe on cooking.com a couple of years ago. I don't use the celery seed, but I do put celery in the salad. I love this potato salad. It is one of the best.
7 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Neloise, FL Reviewed: 05/27/2012
Old Family Recipe
This is the basically the same recipe that has been used in my family for at least 4 generations and has always gotten complements when served. Also, it was the dish that was requested to bring to any picnic or summer cookout.
5 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Kristen, OH Reviewed: 05/27/2012
some modifications needed...
I boil my potatoes WHOLE (when a FORK goes all the way thru they are done). Drain, let cool, skins will come off with your fingers, then dice. Try sturdier potatoes like red or boiling potatoes. Also, mix all the ingr's for the sauce together while the potatoes are cooking so you don't have to keep stirring it, breaking up the potatoes. If you boil them in pieces you will basically end up with chunky mashed potatoes that taste like potato salad. Use REAL mustard, not powder, preferably Dijon!
9 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Joanne, NY Reviewed: 05/27/2012
Our go-to summer potato salad
This is a basic but very good recipe. I omit the eggs. You can add more or less mayo per taste. If I don't have relish, I use some finely chopped baby pickles. I use light mayo at times too. I like the crunch of finely diced celery, so I make sure I have plenty of it tossed in as well.
7 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: lana Reviewed: 05/27/2012
A PLUS RATING
THIS POTATO SALAD WAS WHAT IT SHOULD BE. GREAT TEXTURE AND TASTE,BUT ESPECIALLY THE COLOR. DUE TO THE ADDITION OF MUSTARD POWDER RATHER THAN THE PREPARED VARIETY IT HAD GREAT FLAVOR WITH A NICE CREAMY COLOR THAT WAS MOST APPEALING. I DIDNT CHOP MY CELERY FINE ENOUGH CAUSING IT TO BE TOO OBVIOUS BUT NEXT TIME I WILL.
7 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  13   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You