View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping Over $49
Culinary Escape to Spain
Get Timely and Delicious Recipe Updates
 

New World Gravlax


Source: © EatingWell Magazine
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  8   Viewing: 1 - 8  
Rating: 5
by: Joseph Reviewed: 04/11/2013
Gravlax recipe
Saw this done on Nadia's Bitchin" Kitchen this last week from start to finish and can't wait to try it myself. only difference is that she drained it of excess liquid once a day til cured....
5 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Paula Reviewed: 04/10/2013
Scandinavians can't read either
"This gravlax is a play on the traditional Scandinavian recipe." Is the very first sentence to this recipe Marja. Don't diss the recipe because it's not like the one you make. Everyone is different. Get Cooking: http://www.cooking.com/recipes-and-more/recipes/New-World-Gravlax-recipe-10316.aspx#ixzz2Q5lCQ7wX
5 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Cynthia Reviewed: 06/14/2012
NEW world gravlax
Marja...Didn't you read the name of the recipe? It's NEW world gravlax not old world!
7 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: James, SC Reviewed: 03/19/2012
marja...really!!!
I'm sure we all respect your Finnish heretage, but recipes are adapted by all different parts of the world. I don't like some spices so i change/substitute...as far as GRAVLAX...I love it...never made...but plan to...and further I could throw a salmon in any jug of liquor and 3 days later eat the hxxx out of it...sorry you are offended my love by changes from Finland to another part of the world
11 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Neila, FL Reviewed: 02/12/2012
Terrific!
This makes the most delicious gravlax I've ever tried. THe lemon zest makes a wonderful difference. My husband and I couldn't stop eating it. Now we have to make a second batch!
13 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Laura Reviewed: 01/27/2012
Gravlax-mmmm
This is a fantastic recipe. Make sure you use a good tequilla- the blanco gives it a very nice refined flavor. So easy to make and was a big hit. Everyone thought I was a gourmet cook. I used sockeye salmon because I prefer its milder flavor.
12 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Chef Reviewed: 01/24/2012
Simple & spectacular
1. you don't need the cheesecloth 2. Any strong liquor works and adds a little to the flavor - vodka, gin, tequila, scotch, and remember a sip for the chef! 3. I use superfine sugar, so it dissolves into the flesh as well as the salt 4. You can use any herbs, peppercorns, mustard seeds, even pastrami spice mix 5. Serve with diced tomatoes, diced red onions soaked in balsamic vinegar, , hard boiled eggs, cornichons. 6. There's never any leftovers!
10 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: marja Reviewed: 01/22/2012
Not the Gravlax I grew up with!!!
I come from Finland and before moving to Canada,my mom always made us Gravlax,since salmon is very cheap in Finland and now I'm making it to my family the same way my mom taught me.I have never put anything else in my Gravlax but seasalt,sugar,freshly ground white pepper and fresh dill!! Who puts cilantro and Tequila in real Scandinavian traditional Gravlax?? Not a real scandinavian!! Go figure!
77 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  8   Viewing: 1 - 8  
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You