View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping Over $49
Culinary Escape to Spain
Get Timely and Delicious Recipe Updates
 

Old-Fashioned Chicken & Dumplings


Source: © EatingWell Magazine
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  8   Viewing: 1 - 8  
Rating: 3
by: Joanne, OR Reviewed: 02/26/2012
Good but could be better
I made the recipe exactly but found that: There was way too much poultry seasoning. The dumplings were hard and doughy. Next time I would use 1/2 the poultry seasoning or less, and make the dumplings very small to see if they come out lighter. Also, I won't flour and fry the chicken ahead of time. Just saute in a little oil instead. (Note: It cost me $11.oo for the boneless skinless chicken thighs, so this is not an inexpensive meal), but worth trying again with amendments.
6 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Shawn, TX Reviewed: 01/15/2011
Wonderful
I've made this twice! I love it! Be careful with the Poultry Seasoning---maybe add 75% instead and see...Poultry Seasoning is rather powerful. I also pressed out the dumplings like a pizza and cut out pieces using a pizza cutter. This made them flat and more dense. I liked them both ways--dropped and this way... Awesome Recipe! So EASY TOO!! Shawn
6 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Joanie Reviewed: 09/03/2010
Dumplings-This might be a North/South issue
My mother would be 102 and from Canada and grew up with light fluffy dumplings, I never heard of these solid type dumplings until I moved to SC in 1970, I think it is a matter of preference or what you grew up with. The recipe is excellent and much better with light fluffy dumplings, don't change anything.
8 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Amber Reviewed: 04/12/2010
Not "old fashioned" but delicious
Yes, "old fashioned dumplings" are the ones you take 2 hours to roll out and place gently in boiling broth. But for those of us that want home cooked meal without a whole lot of fuss, this recipe is just perfect. The biscuits have a great flavor and the stew is just the right amount of broth and flavor. I personally used veggie broth instead, because its what I had on hand, and it was perfect. I also used chicken breasts I had boiled and cut into cubes, because I don't like dark meat.
8 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Cecil Reviewed: 12/31/2009
Like my Mom's
Drop dumplings are dumplings to me. Sam likes "chicken 'an noodles with gravy". I use the whole chicken (stewing hen). I'll try the wholewheat dumplings.
11 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Sam Reviewed: 12/30/2009
Not Old Fashioned
For this recipe to be an old fashioned one, you do not use drop dumplings; but use the roll and cut ones. Most of the roll and cuts are done in long lengths. I use a pizze ccutter and make 1" squares. Drop dumplings are a fast food way of making chicken and dumplings and haven't the taste, texture nor allure of the real thing.
16 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Jeanne Reviewed: 11/15/2009
This is really a great recipe. I especially like the whole wheat flour because the dumplings aren't doughy or pasty and they have more flavor. I wouldn't change anything in it at all. I've fixed it twice and will again. Really good the next day also.
18 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Terrence, CA Reviewed: 06/09/2009
Chicken n Dumplings rating
I love this recipe and so does my husband.
119 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  8   Viewing: 1 - 8  
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You