View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping Over $49
Culinary Escape to Spain
Get Timely and Delicious Recipe Updates
 

Pear Cobbler with Cranberry Streusel


Source: Tyler's Ultimate by Tyler Florence
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  8   Viewing: 1 - 8  
Rating: 5
by: Chad, AL Reviewed: 12/01/2012
Nice combination
I followed this recipe to the letter, and it turned out perfect. The pears must be ripe, or they will take a long time to cook through. Remember that Bartlett pears are yellow when they are ripe.
3 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Carol, KY Reviewed: 11/25/2012
Good with changes
I found the combination of cranberries and pears interesting, but I peeled and chopped my pears, thinking they would cook more evenly. Also, I was short one pair, so I substituted an apple. The cook time took MUCH longer, maybe double. Everything looked raw at the suggested time. Made this for guests who seemed to like it.
4 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Eileen, FL Reviewed: 11/22/2012
Quick & delicious
This receipe was so easy to make use rip pears and they will come out perfect. My family loved it will make time & time again.
4 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: margie Reviewed: 11/17/2012
needs some tweaking
I made this in spite of the lukewarm reviews from others because the combination of the pears and cranberries sounded delicious. This might be okay, but the streusel topping has far too much butter in it to be crunchy. That, combined with the juiciness of the pears makes it very mushy. Perhaps the butter could be reduced and maybe make it a pear/apple combo on the bottom. Don't think I will be making this again.
4 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Kelly, CO Reviewed: 11/16/2012
Would make again with changes to the streusel....
So true, as another review said, that the pears seemed to never cook! I baked it 25 minutes longer than the recipe states. The pear/cranberry combo was yummy, but the streusel topping was more like a cookie dough because it calls for softened butter, so it took forever to "set" and brown! I even put it under the broiler to try to brown it more! I thought all streusel toppings were made with cold butter, so may try that next time, may also add oats and/or nuts.
5 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Charlene, NJ Reviewed: 11/12/2012
Something Different
I got an email for this recipe and it sounded so good I went and bought the pears (had the cranberries). Cooked it according to the directions and smelled heavenly. But the pears even after cooking a little longer were still a bit hard (afraid to do longer because it was getting too dark on top). I think next time I'll chop them up and they will cook better. Also 4 pears were too much for a 8x8 pan and my pears weren't big. But it tastes good.
15 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: Linda, IL Reviewed: 11/11/2012
not my favorite...just ok
I made this last night as I happend to have all the ingredients at home. I followed it to the T...but it was a bit too gooey for me. The pear/cranbery combo was great,(I had the cranberries in my freezer), so cooked together they were real tasty. I just did not like the texture. Guess I was expecting something more like an apple crisp. Maybe omitting the flour mixed with pears would be better. Just add the crumbled topping..doubt I'll make it again..but hubby likes it just fine.
5 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Suzanne, PA Reviewed: 11/10/2012
Sounds great but--
The picture shows the pears in the dish with cored side up, and it would probably be better that way so the yummy streusel could settle in the hollowed out core.
5 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  8   Viewing: 1 - 8  
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You