View cart background image
0
items
Get Timely and Delicious Recipe Updates
 

Potato Chips


Source: Outdoor Entertaining
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  11   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
Rating: 1
by: DON, CA Reviewed: 09/06/2012
recipe and review are both wrong
The recipe is wrong but the reviewer is half wrong. The way to make potato chips or French fries is to first cook them in oil without letting them brown, You can cook several batches ahead of time. When ready to serve reheat the oil and plunge potatoes in the hot oil until they become crisp and brown. The best potatoes for either chips or fries are called Kennebec or Maine potatoes. They wiil get crisp but won't get very brown.
7 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: KURT Reviewed: 09/05/2012
POTATO CHIPS
I MAKE POTATO CHIPS ALL THE TIME. TO MAKE REALLY CRISP CHIPS THEY MUST FIRST BE PAR-COOKED IN OIL AT ABOUT 300 DEGREES FOR 4-5 MINUTES AND THEN ALLOWED TO COOL ON PAPER TOWELS. INCREASE OIL TEMP TO 375 AND RE-FRY UNTIL CRISP AND GOLDEN.
5 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Lewis, WA Reviewed: 09/04/2012
Slicing, now thats a problem.
I cannot review this recipe because I have yet to make it, but it sounds good. Problem: if you attempt to slice the potatoes with a knife you will not get uniform thickness unless you are the king of slicing! Without uniform thickness you will not have uniform cooking times; some burnt, some not done, not pretty. In my house we like raw yams on our salad and to slice them we use a potato peeler. It gives us very thin, uniform slices that would be just the thing for this recipe.
6 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Alex Reviewed: 09/04/2012
Slicing
A mandoline would work best for perfect uniformity.
4 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Ralph, AZ Reviewed: 09/04/2012
cuttting potatoes
By far the instrument of choice in making potato chips (or for any uniform slicing task)is a mandoline. With one, you can make chips so thin that you can almost see through them, and they will be super crispy and cooked through without the need to parboil them first. Simply soak off the starch, dry and fry as in the recipe.
5 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Betty, IL Reviewed: 09/04/2012
Same outcome without the fat
This recipe can be made entirely in the microwave. Slice potato very thinly (on a mandoline, if possible). Cut a piece of parchment paper to fit your microwave turntable. Lay out potato pieces so they don't touch each other. Microwave 4 minutes on high. Rest two minutes. Microwave on high an additional 2 minutes. That's it! You can add seasonings to the raw potato slices. Sea Salt, BBQ seasoning, Italian seasoning all work well.
12 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: L Reviewed: 09/04/2012
yes!
My mom used to do this, and her mom before her. It's easy and delicious. Thanks for the reminder!
5 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Stormy Reviewed: 09/04/2012
Easier & cheaper way
We all know in this tough economy saving money is important! I have been making chips all summer.. I reuse my veg oil a few times, once it cools I put it in a bowl and put in the fridge. I went to Walmart and got the $10 food slicer. It makes cutting the potatoes a lot easier and faster, I can have a large bowl done in no time. I do let them sit in water until I'm ready for them. You can make them with the skin on. We like meat tenderizer seasoning the best, but see what your family likes!!
7 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Wayne Reviewed: 06/24/2012
Amazingly good.
A bit messy to make because of the oil, paper towels and so forth, but mine were amazingly tasty. I imagine the type and quality of the potatoes is important and if so, I was lucky. I live in Italy where potatoes are sold and referred to as just "potatoes" so I used what was available.
8 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: JAMES L TRAVIS Reviewed: 06/23/2012
Potato Chips Need to be blanched before frying
I suspect that you will be disappointed with this recipe. Any kind of home made potato chips, or french fries for that matter, need to be blanched first by placing the sliced potatoes in boiling water for two minutes, patted dry, and then allowed to cool. The other problem is the attempt to slice with a knife. Strongly recommend the use of a meat slicer, or a food processor slicer to get relatively uniform slices. The lack of uniformity will lead to overcooked and soggy chips in the same batch.
268 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  11   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You