View cart background image
0
items
Get Timely and Delicious Recipe Updates
 

Sour Cream Cheesecake


Source: Daisy® Sour Cream
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  8   Viewing: 1 - 8  
Rating: 3
by: Mary Anne, NJ Reviewed: 05/02/2013
Sugar measurements
Haven't tried yet but to help out -maybe the 1/4 cup 2/3 cup and 3 Tbsp of sugar equal the 1cup called for. Rating this without trying it
4 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Patryce Reviewed: 05/11/2012
Also similar to ours
We've also been making a very similar recipe to this, for about 40 years. Ours has one more egg, we don't make a crust(making it gluten free I believe)and we put almond extract in the filling instead of vanilla, but vanilla in the topping, exactly the same amounts of cream cheese, sugar, topping ingredients, cooking temp and times. We also like to make them cupcake sized(makes about a dozen), or 48 gem sized(mini cupcake)Bake for about 20 minutes at 300 deg. This cheesecake also freezes well.
10 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Gretchen Reviewed: 05/10/2012
Wonderful recipe
I've been making this since 1977, but used sherry in the topping instead of vanilla
5 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: melanie Reviewed: 05/10/2012
found it!
I had this recipe years ago and misplaced it. Have been looking for it ever since. Have tried a few other recipes that were close, but nothing compares to this one! Thanks for dropping it in my inbox!
4 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Boni Reviewed: 05/09/2012
Best creamy cheesecake recipe
This is my mother's recipe that I have been making for fifty years - it is fabulous. The sour cream top layer is the is the secret.
7 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Beverley, TN Reviewed: 05/09/2012
Similar to mine
This recipe differs from mine in that mine has an additional block of cream cheese,more eggs and, of course a little more sugar which makes a thicker cheesecake. I got my recipe from an Army Mess Sergeant when I was a dietetic intern. I have used this recipe for more than 40 years and have passed it down to my children. No better cheesecake available!
7 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Joyce, MA Reviewed: 05/09/2012
The amount of sugar isn't correct
This recipe calls for 1 cup of sugar, divided. For the cheesecake, it says to use 2/3 cup of sugar. So you have 1/3 cup of sugar remaining. For the topping, it says to use 3 tablespoons of sugar. Three tablespoons is less than 1/4 cup. What is the correct amount of sugar to use for the topping; 3 tablespoons or the remaining 1/3 cup? Couldn't send this message without rating it, so I gave it 5 stars because it sounds good. I will try it once I know the correct amount of sugar to use.
4 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Ruth Reviewed: 05/05/2011
Oldie but Goodie!
I have been using a similar recipe for more than 30 years and it always is the most delicious cheesecake/pie I have ever had. I don't like the mealiness of most cheesecakes and this one is so smooth and delicious! Recommend highly.
95 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  8   Viewing: 1 - 8  
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You