View cart background image
0
items
Get Timely and Delicious Recipe Updates
 

Smoked Sausage, Cabbage and Potato Soup


Source: Quick from Scratch - Soups and Salads
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  8   Viewing: 1 - 8  
Rating: 5
by: Donna, SC Reviewed: 04/30/2012
Made this vegan and it was awesome!
I substituted Tofurky Kielbasa and vegetable broth to make it vegan and it turned out great. I also added a can of diced tomatoes the second time I made it. This could also be made in the slow cooker. Very versatile recipe.
9 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Lorraine Reviewed: 04/26/2012
Yummy
I browned the polish sausage to get out some of the fat but then threw it in the soup while it was cooking so it would flavor it. It is really yummy and yes, you can add to it, I had a few mushrooms that I included with the browning onions.
7 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Lynn, WA Reviewed: 04/25/2012
Why Not ???
Why not saute/brown the sausage in the soup pot, drain off all but the amount of oil needed to procede with the rest of the receipe? Save a pot. Keep the smoked sausage flavor. Just asking.
10 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Dolores, WI Reviewed: 03/12/2012
Right up there with chicken soup
What a great soup! Lends itself to many variations too. I added carrots early in the cooking for more flavor. Also used more total vegetable than the recipe called for so it made a good, rib-sticking meal.
18 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Leta Reviewed: 01/18/2012
Versatile Soup
Can use kielbasa or smoked bratwurst instead. Also, I kicked it up a notch by making my quart of water from one beer and enough water to make a quart. (or two beers...)
21 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Lori Reviewed: 10/27/2011
Great, easy soup
I made this soup last week, and my whole family enjoyed it. I added onions with the garlic, maybe 1/2 C, diced and did not cook the sausage separately, I added it into the soup to simmer a while. The cabbage cooked up, so you couldn't even tell it was in there! Which was a plus for me because I don't think my kids would have eaten it if they had seen all of the cabbage! Serve with a nice crusy bread and butter. Cooked up fast and made the house smell delicious.
15 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Phil Reviewed: 10/17/2010
Same recipe?
Same recipe that I found in "Food and Wine' even the photo is the same.
17 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: jose Reviewed: 04/23/2009
GREAT
haven't had such a great soup for a while
132 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  8   Viewing: 1 - 8  
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You