View cart background image
0
items
Get Timely and Delicious Recipe Updates
 

Carolina Barbecue Sauce


Source: Fine Cooking - Issue No. 15
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  10   Viewing: 1 - 10  
Rating: 3
by: Juanita Reviewed: 02/22/2014
Real Carolina bar-b-que sauce does not have tomatoes in it. It is a mix of vinegar, spices, and a sweetner. This recipe has many of the right ingredients and creates a definite vinegar flavor in a tomato based sauce.
1 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Sharon, FL Reviewed: 08/16/2013
Tomatoes???
I have not tried the recipe, but I do not remember tomatoes being in Carolina Barbecue.
4 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Donald, WV Reviewed: 08/15/2013
... not like any "Carolina" sauce I've ever had !
Strange recipe ... almost like someone was trying to "mimic" something ... all those ingerdients ... honey, molasses, corriander, cumin, bay, chilies and the copious amounts of tomatoes .... much more like a Memphis style but still too many ingredients !
5 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Donna Reviewed: 08/15/2013
NOT Carolina BBQ sauce
Sorry, there are NO tomatoes in Carolina BBQ sauce. Or Molasses. Or cumin.... I could go on. Carolina BBQ sauce is vinegar based, and when added to good smoked pork, does not turn into red mush like the photo. Oh, and it ALSO doesn't have mustard, which is what the folks out west think should be in Carolina BBQ. Ya'll need to visit N.C.
4 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: Kenneth Reviewed: 08/03/2012
BBQ Sauce
I live in the BBQ capitol,Lexington N.C. This recipe is not the one we use here. sorry. although I'm sure it's a very good sauce.
9 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Katie, NC Reviewed: 06/23/2011
Carolina Barbecue Sauce
What Carolina are you referring to ... certainly NOT North Carolina, especially EASTERN NC
9 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: curtis Reviewed: 06/23/2011
Not Traditional Carolina
White vinegar? Every N and S Carolina BBQ sauce recipe, mop and marinade I've tasted had cider vinegar. The other ingredients sound like a SW influence or maybe even cajun. Sounds interesting though, I may try.
8 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: Susan, CA Reviewed: 07/02/2010
True "Carolina" BBQ !!
I beg to differ with the reviewer who claimed that this recipe was not a "true Carolina BBQ sauce" due to the lack of vinegar. The sauce recipe calls for a copious amount of vinegar; re-read and apologize! This is very close to the sauce I ate throughout the South, referred to as "Carolina BBQ sauce"; thin, vinegary, with tomatoes and not sweet.
8 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Roark Reviewed: 11/09/2009
?
carolina sauce with no vinegar? nope. sounds fairly tasty though, kind of an odd way to do qsauce
7 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Danny Reviewed: 05/23/2009
From the looks of the ingredients it does not appear to be NC style BBQ sauce.
153 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  10   Viewing: 1 - 10  
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You