View cart background image
0
items
Get Timely and Delicious Recipe Updates
 

Big Bend Texas-Style Chili


Source: Beef for All Seasons
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  8   Viewing: 1 - 8  
Rating: 1
by: Sonny Reviewed: 01/09/2013
Real Chili con Carne
Sorry podnah but real tex chili has nothing but beef and spices.
6 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Lance, WA Reviewed: 10/14/2011
NO TOMATOES EVER
Not many tomatoes on a trail drive canned or otherwise.. Dried new Mexico chill pods cumin but never tomatoes and yes beans were a must but in there own pot and on the side. Very few of these so called "chili heads" have the slightest idea of what a real chili tastes like... They should all go back to Cincinnati and serve there tomato concoction over spaghetti. A lot of things go in chili, what ever meat was available, an ocasional onion even but never tomatoes flour for thicking even masa.
12 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: jess Reviewed: 10/28/2010
Yummy
One of my favorite chili recipes, sans the goat cheese. Kind of a coney island type chili. Quick, easy, and delicious.
4 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Suzanne Reviewed: 09/28/2009
TexasGal
I agree with BJ...I'm from San Antonio & we DO NOT put beans in our chili. My grandmother cooked her well-seasoned beans (onion, garlic, chili powder)separately and then served either some on top of the chili or on the side w/rice. For deeper,richer flavor add about 2 more tbls. of chili powder w/some cayenne pepper to taste for "heat" (start with 1 teaspoon) Better yet, chop up one or two jalepanos or seranos -remove the seeds if you can't stand the heat! PUH-LEAZE no vinegar/parsley.UGH!
17 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Peter Reviewed: 09/28/2009
If you know beans about chili, ...
...then you know there ain't no beans in chili. Not being a purist, mind you. A Chilihead would not even put beans and chili in the same sentence. Your recipe has some flavor, but it is not a real bowl of red. Chili is the sauce, the "gravy" in which the layers of flavor have developed. This has little depth, though there are some good ingredients that could benefit if you had attended a couple of chili cook offs before you attempted to call it chili. Plus you would have had some fun.
8 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: jj Reviewed: 09/28/2009
bean dish
For the record, when you put beans in, it's a bean dish. There are no beans in Chili...not in Texas
19 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Cathy Reviewed: 09/28/2009
Sorry...kidney beans?!?
What a silly title! Not only are beans not common in Texas chili, kidney beans are about the worst that could be used. If you MUST use beans, at least go for pinto...or even black.
13 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: BJ, TX Reviewed: 06/29/2008
Ok...Texans do not put beans in the Chili! However the recipe is good.
I cook Chili in competions (for charity). There you normally use 6 or more tablespoons of Chili powder, only powdered spices and no visible floating veggies, nor thickening products. It's tuff!
But a recipe as this is very good. I used 2 lbs. meat, added a little more cumin, chili powder and dropped the beer and vinegar. For beans I used 1 can each of Bush's Pinto Beans and Red Kidney Beans.
123 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  8   Viewing: 1 - 8  
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You