View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping Over $49
America

Sour Cream Chocolate Cake with Coconut Frosting


Source: Fine Cooking - Issue 37
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  7   Viewing: 1 - 7  
Rating: 5
by: Jean, MA Reviewed: 01/17/2012
Fabulous
USE 3 PANS! AGAIN, USE 3 PANS! The cake batter overflowed using only 2 pans and made a smoky mess. This cake was wonderful. It was very moist with a very good chocolate flavor. I, however, did NOT use this frosting recipe. I made a butter cream using the coconut extract and the coconut milk. My DH said it was the best cake I've ever made.
14 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: Gretchen, PR Reviewed: 04/25/2011
Frosting Not Comparable to Cake
Cake was delicious; light, airy. Only comment wass make sure that you truly/really let your butter stand enough, as to not see the tablespoons flying off your mixer; I'm an experienced baker - it was nuts. Next - frontins, too much butter taste/consistency - felt gross; I improved it greatly by adding 1/2 cup of confectioner's sugar and 9 oz of semi-sweet morsels softened in double boiler with 1 tsp butter and 1 tbsp milk mixed into orig frosting recipe - best compliments I've gotten.
13 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: teresa Reviewed: 04/09/2011
Took 3rd place at the MI State Fair
This is my most requested cake to make. I have deep cake pans and have never had an issue with them spilling over while baking. It also makes for a very tall cake. As for the frosting, it is a heart attack on a plate with all the butter. But to have occasionally it is a treat. I don't toast the coconut as I like it to look like a big snow ball. I made it about 5 years ago when the MI State Fair had a cake contest and it took 3rd place out of about 40 cakes.
16 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: c Reviewed: 02/05/2011
Forget the oven
Don't worry James about the oven, if you had baked me a cake I would have eaten it with you naked, forget the oven.
33 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Melissa Reviewed: 09/08/2010
Yumm-o
Very good chocolate cake or cup cakes. They are very moist my family loved them. Haven't tried the frosting didn't have coconut but very excited to try! But very good with a chocolate butter cream, very rich.
14 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Alice Reviewed: 08/22/2010
Good cake BUT...
The cake was a very good chocolate cake. I agree with the other reviewer that the next time I make it I will make it in three layers. However, the frosting has WAY too much butter! The next time I make it, I will also halve the butter in the frosting. It was overpowering.
13 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: James, NY Reviewed: 01/11/2010
Good cake but my wife isn't happy
Made this cake this afternoon--followed directions to a tee but it baked over the cake pans by a lot. Wife isn't happy about my messing up "her" oven. On the other hand, excellent moist cake and if I make it again I may try it in 3 layers. Thank God for self-cleaning oven.
272 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  7   Viewing: 1 - 7  
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards