View cart background image
0
items
Get Timely and Delicious Recipe Updates
 

Featherlight Buttermilk Pancakes


Source: Cooking.com
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  28   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 3 < Back Next > 
Rating: 4
by: Sherie Reviewed: 03/15/2013
Very Good, But Very Very Rich Pancakes
3 tbs butter should be added to batter, but I’d omit. Pancakes are quite rich without it. Suspect results vary depending on ingredients. I used regular sour cream & homemade buttermilk (full fat) so my pancakes were thick, quite rich, much more filling than most recipes. To cut the richness, suggest using a lower fat buttermilk and/or reduced fat sour cream, and omit butter. To reduce thickness, spoon flour into measuring cup, don’t scoop it, and perhaps thin the batter with a little milk.
8 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: JoAnne, NJ Reviewed: 01/14/2013
Easy and Delicious
My boyfriend is from England and never had pancakes--crepes, yes--but not pancakes. I decided to make this recipe as his first introduction into the pancake world! They were light, airy, and delicious! This is also my first attempt at making my own batter and I'm happy to say it was a very easy recipe to make. Thanks for sharing this recipe. I will never buy a boxed pancake mix or frozen pancakes again.
8 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Deborah, ME Reviewed: 03/04/2012
Quick, East & Simply the best!
I've made these a couple times, first as pancakes, most recently for Belgian waffles. Made the pancakes as written, except I forgot the vanilla =/ and for the waffles, I separated the egg, mixed the yolk with the wet ingredients, beat the whites to a stiff peak then folded the white into the rest of the batter. Both versions came out really well. I've been searching for a great pancake/waffle mix but my search is finally over, I'll be using recipe from now on. Thanks for a great recipe!
10 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Amee, CO Reviewed: 02/25/2012
"Healthier" version great even at high altitude!
This recipe turned out great even at a mile high (Denver). I substituted white whole wheat flour for the all-purpose, 1 cup of fat free sour cream, and even added Benefiber to the wet ingredients. The batter is much thicker and lumpier than a "normal" pancake batter, but don't let that scare you... the pancakes come out beautifully light and fluffy. Also, I cooked mine on medium-high heat; they seemed to cook more evenly at that temp than at medium. Enjoy!
10 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Debbie Reviewed: 02/25/2012
GREAT pancakes!
This was the first time I even made homemade pancakes and it will not be my last! I never realized how easy they were to make and how fantastic they taste!! I was concerned because the batter appeared rather thick but I discovered this was how it was supposed to be. Give them a try…you’ll love them!
6 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: J Reviewed: 02/24/2012
Okay... but
This recipe was okay, eh. It did not 'wow' me...probably because of how many ingredients were involved. I have all of the ingredients on hand usually, which is fine, but for 'a bit of butter milk and a bit of sour cream', I was just not amazed at the results.
8 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Sara Reviewed: 02/22/2012
Featherlight is a good description of these pancakes. They are light, delicate and very tasty. I added blueberries. These were easy to make and worth the trouble. My family loved them. I will make them again.
8 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Pauline, QC Reviewed: 02/21/2012
Awesome
I never ate such a light and delicious pancake. I served it to my sister for brunch and right away she asked me for the recipe. This one is for keeps.
8 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Betty Reviewed: 02/21/2012
Simply Light & delicious!
I had guest from out of town and made these pancakes for the first time. I've eaten lots of pancakes, but have never eaten pancakes so light, fluffy and delicious. Please don't let the lumps fool you. The lumpy batter makes the pancakes light and fluffy. Kudos to the person who came up with this recipe. You have to try them for yourself!
8 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Cpprbull Reviewed: 02/20/2012
Wow!
Couldn't wait til morn. Made them for dinner. Fantastic!
6 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  28   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 3 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You