View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping Over $49
Culinary Escape to Spain
Get Timely and Delicious Recipe Updates
 

Coconut Custard Pie


Source: Casual Cuisines of the World - Diner
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  22   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 3 < Back Next > 
Rating: 5
by: Lisa, SC Reviewed: 08/11/2013
Delicious!
This is very, very good! I too am annoyed with the petty nastiness of the other reviewers. How about those telling people to "get their facts straight" do the same? "Pudding" is thickened with starch. "Custard" is thickened with egg. Doesn't matter whether on the stove or in the oven and - WHO CARES!!!!? This pie is creamy, custard-y, and delicious!FYI - "frozen custard" never goes in an oven. Guess the places selling it should change to "frozen pudding"?
4 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Susan Reviewed: 10/02/2012
SO delicious
This is the only custard pie I have ever made from scratch, always using jello box custards in the past. This was easy! I'll never use box custards again, and so delicious my husband said it was as good as his Moms. Which is an amazing compliment to me.
6 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: susan Reviewed: 04/08/2012
Coconut Custard Pie
Excellent recipe! I made this for the family and they loved it so I made it for Easter and it was a hit. Easy to make. Not that many ingredients which is important to me.
5 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Shirley Reviewed: 03/28/2012
Custard pie is not cooked on the stovetop.
COCONUT CUSTARD PIE 1 (9-inch) baked pastry shell, 1 c. flaked coconut 3 eggs 1 (14 oz.) can sweetened condensed milk 1 1/4 c. hot water 1 tsp. vanilla extract 1/4 tsp. salt 1/8 tsp. ground nutmeg Preheat oven 425 degrees. Toast 1/2 cup coconut. Beat eggs. Add sweetened condensed milk, water, vanilla, salt and nutmeg; mix well. Stir in remaining 1/2 cup coconut. Pour into prepared pastry shell. Sprinkle with toasted coconut. Bake 10 minutes. Reduce oven temperature to 350 degrees; continue baking 25 to 30 minutes or until knife inserted near center comes out clean. Cool. Refrigerate leftovers.
14 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Lori, OR Reviewed: 03/20/2012
Who Cares?
I have made this recipe and it was great. Who cares if it is a custard or cream pie? People need to find something else to get upset about. It is almost as good as my mom's.
10 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Micki, FL Reviewed: 03/20/2012
OH MY GOODNESS, WHO CARES?
You all need to get a life! All this jabber about if this is a "cream" pie or "custard" pie is crazy. If you cook the filling in a pan, it is a "pudding". If the filling is baked in the pie shell, it is a "custard"! This recipe calls for cooking the filling in a pan - ala, pudding. With that said, this pie IS considered a Coconut Cream Pie. So much for that. Now, to the actual recipe. It is really YUMMY!!! So you all need to get over the hang-up on what it is called. Make it and enjoy!!
14 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: sharon Reviewed: 03/20/2012
Pies
Did anyone make this recipe yet?
4 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Marcy Reviewed: 03/19/2012
Who Cares what the name is?
How about all you reviewers MAKE the recipe and rate the taste and quality instead of arguing if this is a custard or cream pie? I printed the recipe and will rate it on goodness instead of the name.
9 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: mary, GA Reviewed: 03/19/2012
Very Good Whatever It's Called
Quit nitpicking over a name. It's good, that's what matters.
7 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Tommie Reviewed: 03/19/2012
Custard???
I was thrilled to see in the subject line that you were featuring a recipe for coconut custard pie. Imagine my disappointment to find that your recipe is, in fact, for coconut CREAM pie, not for the advertised coconut CUSTARD pie. Please, check your food dictionary before you title recipes in the future
4 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  22   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 3 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You