View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping Over $49
TastingTable Sweepstakes

French Onion Soup


Source: Cooking.com
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  14   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
Rating: 3
by: Kristen Reviewed: 01/25/2012
Try this version!
I always use BEEF stock/broth in my French Onion soup; also try substituting the white wine with cooking Sherry (only about 1/2 cup or so to taste (it is stronger in flavor so add a little at a time until it suits your taste). These changes make the soup have a dark, rich flavor and color like the French Onion soup you order in restaurants. Hope you enjoy!
26 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Gail Reviewed: 01/09/2012
Don't waste your time or money
Probably the worst soup ever. Watery onion soup, no taste, no color, a disgrace to even publish this.
19 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: Doak Reviewed: 01/04/2012
No, no, no
This sounds like a nice soup, but a disappointing one if looking for true French onion soup. As many others mentioned, beef stock its essential (and homemade stock, rather than that salty, yeasty stuff from the store). In the author's defense, cooking the onions for an hour on the stove should produce a very deep color, rather than merely golden. It sounds like she got that much right.
20 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: CJ Reviewed: 01/04/2012
Never again
This is only the second recipe in my 9 years of cooking for my husband that he has refused to eat. He will eat almost anything, and I am quite a good cook. I didn't like the broth, but he's not fussy. He really disliked this, which is very unusual for him. I think the chicken broth was a big turn off for starters. The flavor of the whole dish was off.
26 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Chet, NY Reviewed: 01/03/2012
HUH ??? onion what ?
didn't make it , but from the recipe I wouldn't ! I ( when I make it ) start by caramelizing the onions in butter. for the "stock" I cook down beef bones and make a demi glaze and for the wine I use white vermouth (dry) I even add some homemade stewed tomatoes although that's not "kosher" give it a try ! they used to give the bones away, but now they sell them, you'll need a few for a real gelatinous stock. but it adds some body and flavor.
23 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: reki Reviewed: 01/03/2012
make it better
okay first of all, ditch the butter, just spray the pan with a little oil; they make plenty of liquid! use beef/lamb stock instead of chicken for a much heartier, robust flavor to balance out the sweet onions. add a generous amount of garlic and black pepper, and salt to taste and everyone...i'm talking my 5 yr old y'all...will leave you none none none. the gruyere is essential, though parmesan and mozarella are ok. then its 5 star worthy!
13 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Douglas, VT Reviewed: 01/03/2012
Well, it's onion soup, just not French
Jodi is correct, it needs more flavor. Traditionally, that's sage and bay, along with whatever flavors are brought in by the BEEF stock/broth (preferably stock and homemade), wine, which is missing altogether, and, just at the end, a splash of cognac. Also the onions must be caramelized, therefore BROWN. The cheese should be a mixture of Gruyere and Parmesan. That's "French" onion soup ... this is just, well, onion soup.
27 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: TONY Reviewed: 01/03/2012
NOT A TRADITIONAL RECIPE
THIS IS NOT FRENCH ONION SOUP...BY ANY STRETCH OF A MORONS THE IMAGINATION!!!! BEEF BROTH...FROM ROASTED BONES AND AROMATICS...DARK RICH STOCK FOR A BASE AND ONIONS, CARAMELIZED TO A DARK, SWEET BROWN..THEN SIMMERS FOR AN HOUR...FULL FLAVOR...RICH AND DELIGHTFUL...NOT THIS DISHWASHER BLAND GARBAGE! YOU CAN CALL THIS SLOP ONION SOUP...BUT NOT FRENCH ONION SOUP...CHECK ANY DECENT COOKBOOK FOR THE ORIGINAL RECIPE
26 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Jodi Reviewed: 10/29/2011
Needs more flavor
I added Herbs de Provance. I love the way the onions cooked down.
23 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: todd Reviewed: 10/27/2011
onion soup
The worst way to make this soup. The onions have to have some color on them. This one lakes all the extra flavor.
24 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  14   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You