View cart background image
0
items

Lemonade Layer Cake


Source: Cooking.com
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  14   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
Rating: 5
by: April Reviewed: 02/28/2014
Very good, lemony cake
My mom made this cake for my birthday. I wondered how it would turn out, after reading the other reviews. I have to say, it was one of my favorite cakes ever. She used 9 inch round pans, as she didn't have square ones, and she used a lot more lemon zest in the frosting, which gives you a nice burst of extra lemony flavor in each bite. She also used a hand mixer, as she didn't have a stand mixer. The cake turned out very dense; it would work well for a tier cake. We loved it!
4 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Sylvia Reviewed: 08/27/2012
A Keeper!
Everytime I make this cake, people go crazy over it, and want the recipe! It is light, and not too sweet. The frosting is delicious! You could just sit with a spoon and eat it.
8 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Pam, TX Reviewed: 06/14/2012
Cake Good; Frosting Yummy
I've been baking for 45yrs. Cake: I followed the recipe sifting & ensured the butter was soft(bendable) but not squishy, added cake enhancer & lemon juice powder. The flavor was good, but it's too dense for my liking. Frosting: again soft butter, sifted sugar & added lemon juice powder. I prefer first beating the butter/sugar 'til light then adding the cream cheese a piece at a time, then the remaining ingredients; makes a very fluffy frosting & it was yummy!
10 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Pat Reviewed: 05/29/2012
Good cake, but 2" pans not needed
I made this cake 3 times trying to get the fantastic cake that others made. The cake is good, but not a show-stopper. The icing is very creamy & not too sweet, but the recipe makes way too much. I couldn't find lemon oil, so used lemon extract. I used extra of all the lemon flavors in the recipe, but never could get the strong lemon flavor I wanted. I bought costly 2" pans (round/square: Is the recipe wrong or the picture?), but they are not needed. The cake was dense & never rose that high.
8 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Lori Reviewed: 02/05/2012
This was terrible
I have been baking for over 36 yrs and this was such let down. I made it for my husbands birthday.First of all there is not enough taste to the cake, and I even added extra lemon. There was no need to use 9" pans, as it made as much as a boxed cake mix makes and that goes in 8" pans just fine. The frosting was awful, way to much cream cheese.It ended up tasting like the canned cream cheese frosting and was too soft.
7 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Beth, PA Reviewed: 02/01/2012
disappionting
I only gave this recipe one cup because there wasn't anything lower. I bake and cook from scratch all the time and this recipe was very disappointing. The taste was not good and the frosting was way to much cream cheese and butter. I would not recommend you wasting your time for this recipe.
10 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Paul Reviewed: 01/10/2012
Cupcakes with this recipe?
Has anyone tried to make cupcakes with this recipe? If so, what was the yield and baking temperature/time?
8 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Susan, CA Reviewed: 07/17/2011
9" ROUND pans...not SQUARE as called for in recipe
I'm extremely surprised that no one has noted yet that the recipe calls for 9" square cake pans, but is really writen for 9" round cake pans. I really agonized over the cake pan size called for in the recipe...but since the photos were somewhat ambiguous, and since no other reviewer had mentioned it, decided to follow the recipe. Also, the amount of frosting called for seemed like a lot...indicating a large cake. "Maybe it really puffs up," I thought. Big mistake. Please fix the instructions!!
9 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Carol, WI Reviewed: 06/29/2011
Rave Reviews
Everyone liked the cake! Thought it was light & fresh. I used frozen raspberry lemonade instead of regular (and a touch in the frosting as well), plus squeezed fresh lemon into the batter as well as the frosting. Pinch of cardamom for flavoring, sprinkle of apple pie spice. Fantastic!
12 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Tracey, MA Reviewed: 05/23/2011
Delicious
This cake was delicious and recommend to anyone who likes a light lemony flavor. I did sift the flour as directed.
9 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  14   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You