View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping on orders of $40 or more
Dash of Diamonds and Pinch of Pearls Sweepstakes
Get Timely and Delicious Recipe Updates
 

All-American Potato Salad


Source: Cooking.com
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  13   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
Rating: 2
by: Randee Reviewed: 07/21/2012
Very Easy Potato Salad
I thought I had everything when I started but ended up using a garlic oil, no olives, or egg both by choice and miracle whip vs mayo.I let the hot potatoes set in the oil mixture before adding the balance. Had my husband taste test warm then cooled it. Both agreed as warm it was really good.Just 2 of us so I quartered the red potatoes, ate for 3 days but it was easy and tasted really good. Will be making again as for someone who does not cook a lot and your husband likes it, thats a good sign.
2 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Jennifer, NY Reviewed: 07/13/2012
My go-to for barbecues
I've made this recipe more than a dozen times, and each time I get rave reviews. I do everything the directions say except I omit the olives and add a few more hard boiled eggs. This is a fantastic homemade potato salad, especially if you cut the potatoes to be bite size. Unfortunately for me, every time I go to a barbecue, I'm asked to bring it. Alot of work for me, but I guess the praise is worth it! Definitely time consuming, and definitely feeds more than 8... I'd say more like 12-15
6 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Carol, MN Reviewed: 08/25/2011
all American potato salad
What a boring recipe!! Also, eggs are 'cooked', NOT 'boiled'!!
2 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Scott, GA Reviewed: 08/12/2010
To much of a good thing
This is a good recipe, but it makes WAY MORE than 8 servings. Just be aware of that. Remember, it starts with 4.5 pounds of potatoes before any other ingredients are added. That is over half a pound per person! Like reviewer Peg, I halved the recipe and it worked pretty well.
7 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Peg Reviewed: 07/05/2010
Super Potato Salad
Tried this for the first time. Cut everything in 1/2 and it turned out well. Made it the night before and was good to go the next day. Everyone liked it and I was very pleased with the results. Will make it again. :)
9 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Michelle Reviewed: 07/19/2009
Potato Salad
I agree this salad is fantastic. It is time consuming, but worth the effort. I left my potatoes whole and boiled them for 40 min, then let cool slightly and cubed them with the skins on. Please note this makes closer to 24 servings rather than 8, so that decreases the fat and calories per serving. I think I will use a little less vinegar and omit the parsley. I am going to try 1/4 cup sour cream along with 1 cup mayo. Also try some cubed cheese mixed in and bacon bits sprinkled on top.
14 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Elaine Reviewed: 07/05/2009
Very good, but way much
Don't really need to have my comments published. Pptato Salad was delicious. However, "Serves 8" ? ? ? Serves 12 - 16 easily. We served 8 and had about 2/3 of it left. All had a ample serving. Perhaps "Serves 16" would be more accurate. However, I underline the salad received rave reviews form our guests. Thanks for sharing it.
16 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Ronald, TX Reviewed: 06/22/2009
Potato Salad
I left off the vinegar and olives,,,,,,,,,good salad.
10 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: cindy Reviewed: 06/22/2009
The Best Potato Salad Ever!
I have been eating this potato salad all of my life. We never had exact measurements though. You know, "add a handful of that, and a bunch of that, etc". I have used red potatoes and Idaho. Both are great! I have overcooked potatoes and ended up with almost mashed AND IT IS STILL GREAT! I have added dill, sweet pickles and pickle relish. Dill and sweet go great together! You can use this combo instead of adding the vinegar. You must use some kind of pickle juice though!!!I prefer Dill!
31 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Eric Reviewed: 05/25/2009
Memorial Day Hit!
I was invited to a Memorial Day Party and I was told to bring something. Well, I decided to make potato salad and after surfing the web for a bit, I found this recipe. Needless to say, I was the most popular person at this party. I had people fighting over the last bite! The great thing is that you don't have to follow the recipe exactly. I used only 2 tablespoons of yellow, not Dijon, mustard, I used 5 boiled eggs, and because I'm not a fan only 3/4 cup green onion, and it was still amazing!
50 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  13   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You