View cart background image
0
items
Get Timely and Delicious Recipe Updates
 

Blueberry Pancakes


Source: America's Test Kitchen
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  11   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
Rating: 3
by: Reviewed: 02/22/2013
Mine is better
I use a commercial multi-grain mix and add a crushed, ripe banana, 1 T vanilla & 1 T cinnamon, plus a pinch of sugar. As in this recipe I add blueberries on top right after pouring the pancake. Our grandkids can't get enuff of Gramp's banana/blueberry pancakes. They love them with Redi-Whip on top. These are also a big hit on our boating club's cruises.
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Bart Reviewed: 02/22/2013
Not This Southern Boy
When I saw the substitution of lemon juice and milk for buttermilk, I knew the recipe could only go downhill. Only one egg for 2 cups of flour and 2 cups of buttermilk? I don't need to try this recipe to know it wouldn't compete with the pancakes I've been making for 40 years.
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Linda, NC Reviewed: 01/13/2013
The best pancakes ever!
I had this recipe in my inbox. Was looking for something delicious & different for breakfast today. Had blueberries & buttermilk in the frige & thought I'd give it a try. Served them with butter & powdered sugar only. Fluffy & delicious. Probably the best pancakes I've ever had
1 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Richard, SC Reviewed: 05/07/2012
Where is the bluberry compote?
With a great pancake recipe like this you DO NOT put maple syrup on them! Where is the recipe for the blueberry compote? THAT would make this an even better breakfast.
5 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Kristen, OH Reviewed: 05/07/2012
Easier, Simpler, Faster
Use a Buttermilk Pancake Mix (it has all the premeasured dried ingredients, including salt), add sugar, lemon juice and fresh/frozen berries, & you can save yourself a lot of measuring time (& all your extra ingredients). Just follow the directions for pancake batter. Butter each pancake when you pull it off and stack them. I do the same when blueberries are in season; I buy a bunch & freeze them in Ziplocs. They are good in oatmeal, yogurt, or even just for popping in your mouth as a snack!
6 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: Jim Reviewed: 05/06/2012
No baking powder, please
You suggest using buttermilk in place of regular milk and lemon juice. yet you still use baking powder. The soda and the buttermilk work to develop the proper gas for good rising. Baking powder has the tendency to create gas in a person's stomach making them feel uneasy. The soda/buttermilk combination does not create that unhapy feeling AND it makes a superior cake.
9 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Anne Reviewed: 05/06/2012
Make sure you HEAT your griddle or pan!
Many cooks throw away the first pancake, but there's no need to sacrifice one! Make sure you heat your griddle or pan to medium-high heat. Mine is almost smoking when I put the first one down. A drop of water should quickly skitter across the pan and dissipate if it's HOT ENOUGH. And don't wait until the first side is "dried out" before flipping. To make banana-pecan pancakes, mash up a banana and add that to the batter along with some chopped pecans - YUM!
5 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: ken, FL Reviewed: 05/06/2012
There is a very important step missing here! It has to do with the Egg ingredient and the fluffiness of your pancakes. The secrete is to separate the Egg white from the yoke. Add the yoke to the batter Then in a large bowl whisk the egg white until foamy. Add the foamy egg white to the batter last. Mix well. You will be amazed how much of a difference this will make in the fluffiness of your Pancakes.. I make this recipe on my Electric Griddle. It is my Wife's favorite, and the griddle sure makes the job easy.
6 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: kimberly Reviewed: 03/02/2012
Goumandia has it All!
I love cooking so much and as I take a peek on this Gourmandia site, I found out that there are more than recipes in there... It offers a lot from broad collection of recipes to cooking skills and napkin folding. Thanks for having this. You must try to take a tour on this site! A package site!
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Robert Reviewed: 01/23/2012
Makes fluffy, tangy pancakes
I've made this recipe on and off for a few years now. It works as advertised, but you'll do (slightly) better with the real buttermilk. It's wonderfully tangy, fluffs up just right and goes great with real maple syrup and a pat of butter.
98 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  11   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You