View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping Over $49
America

Simple Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting


Source: America's Test Kitchen
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  8   Viewing: 1 - 8  
Rating: 2
by: Polly Reviewed: 04/20/2014
Great cake but......
Made this for Easter dessert. The cake as directed was great but the cream cheese icing is not very good. If you follow the directions I found it turned out very loose, not sure if that is the proper term but it was more like thicker glaze. I was hoping for a nice frosting and think wasn't. I would use another receipe or store bought next time.
4 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Tammy, OK Reviewed: 03/01/2012
Awesome recipe. Very easy to make and pantry friendly
14 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Lynn, CA Reviewed: 02/10/2012
AWESOME! Easy to make; got RAVE compliments
Great recipe. SUPER easy to make using a food processor. Made it exactly as written - DID add toasted walnuts and raisins, PLUS I also added a can of crushed pineapple (drained) (love it in c.cake!!). As per recipe: this added 12+ mins. to baking time. Took it to a bake sale and got RAVE reviews; also from family. Minor note: made the frosting per recipe: it never set...stayed very sticky. :-( Cake was SUPER easy to handle using parchment paper pan lining; extended mine over ends of pan.
18 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Barbara Reviewed: 01/19/2012
Nutrition facts of recipes
Can you please post the nutrition facts for your recipes? I cook for a diabetic and have high blood pressure myself. I am very concerned about nutrition in a recipe.
31 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Jeannie, AK Reviewed: 09/13/2011
Super Moist
It was very moist. I will definatley bake this one again. The best Carrot Cake I ever ate.
23 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: suzanne Reviewed: 01/21/2011
Cake a Hit!
I haven't made a scratch cake in quite sometime, but this was a real hit at recent get together. 13x9 was gone in matter of minutes! I included golden raisins and toasted pecan pieces as suggested. Thanks for great recipe.
20 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Ann Reviewed: 12/20/2009
Excellent, consistent, flexible
Super carrot cake. Easy to make and consistently excellent in 2 layers or a single large layer (12" round is nice). Very moist with/without nuts. I've frozen this cake (un-frosted) twice and both times it thawed perfectly. However, the frosting is a bit soft for a layer cake and edge piping. I use the Whimsical Bakehouse's cream cheese frosting, which has more body.
31 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Adam Reviewed: 08/19/2009
The best carrot cake you will ever have.
I first tried this recipe when it was featured on Americas Test Kitchen. It is absolutely the best carrot cake recipe around. I get more compliments with this cake than I do with any other I bake and I enjoy it as well.
179 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  8   Viewing: 1 - 8  
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards