View cart background image
0
items
Get Timely and Delicious Recipe Updates
 

Quiche Lorraine


Source: Saveur Magazine
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  20   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
Rating: 5
by: Marianne Reviewed: 06/20/2013
Apparently real americans don't eat real quiche
I remember watching Julia make this on her show back in the day. This is a French recipe, not an Americanized-version. One of these pies should be enough to feed a family of five or six, along with a salad and maybe a loaf of bread. It's real easy for people to forget how much we Americans have increased portion sizes over the years. This is a basic recipe. There are other names for quiche that have other ingredients. As plain as it may seem to some, this is a really tasty, light pie.
7 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: jeanne warne, OH Reviewed: 05/31/2013
Where is the Swiss Cheese?
Should this recipe be corrected? Where is the Swiss Cheese?
7 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: FREDERICK, WA Reviewed: 08/25/2012
A Quiche?
Is this a recipe for an egg quiche or just a "cheeseless" quiche???
7 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Ronald, NY Reviewed: 04/02/2012
Quiche Lorraine
It may not be 100% "authentic" but I want my Gruyere Cheese!!! Quiche doesn't taste like real quiche without cheese. So there !
6 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: eleanor, FL Reviewed: 02/01/2012
WHAT ARE THE CALORIES?
there must be a way of reducing all the butter and cream. Couldn't be too good for the arteries. Ellie Altman
3 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: shirley, CO Reviewed: 02/01/2012
Additions
Due to the lack of cheese I wouldn't use this recipe. I haven't tried this one but my favorite recipe for Quiche Lorraine came in my Oster blender cookbook in the 60's. It added onion salt and a bit of basil (blended with the flour) for the crust. It also included gruyere cheese in the filling -- great complex flavors. I have never eaten one that compared to that one.
10 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Connie, WA Reviewed: 02/01/2012
Reviewing Quich Lorraine
If you make revisions to this recipe, and add in ham, red pepper, onion and asparagus then it's not fair to rate this recipe. This is Quiche Lorraine, and this is what we are all rating. And, I have nothing against a good frittata or quiche with veggies for dinner at all!
15 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Brian Reviewed: 01/31/2012
Quiche Without Cheese
When I was last in the Alsace and Lorraine, I learned that authentic quiche lorraine does *not* have cheese in it. If one will look at: http://www.marmiton.org/recettes/recette_quiche-lorraine_30283.aspx one will see no "fromage" of any sort called for, and that recipe is quite like the one here.
26 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Karen Reviewed: 01/31/2012
True Quiche Lorraine
For all those asking about the cheese. The original Quiche Lorraine has been adapted over the years from a humble custard and bacon pie to the substantial cheese, bacon, and egg creation that it is known for today. I can remember my Great Grandmother making her mothers recipe and it never had cheese. But that is the nice thing about it you can adapt it to use most any ingredient you have on hand
26 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: Bart Reviewed: 01/31/2012
The Gruyere cheese is missing.
It's not traditional without.
6 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  20   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You