View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping on orders of $40 or more
Dash of Diamonds and Pinch of Pearls Sweepstakes
Get Timely and Delicious Recipe Updates
 

Picnic Oven-Fried Chicken


Source: © EatingWell Magazine
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  13   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
Rating: 5
by: Lissa Reviewed: 03/02/2012
Delicious
After reading the reviews I was skeptical to try this recipe. All the positive reviews were right on and the negative ones were way off. I did let the chicken soak in buttermilk for 18 hours, added bread crumbs and poultry seasoning to dredge mix and turned chicken midway thru baking. I served this with baked sweet potato wedges and sauteed turnip greens with bacon. Everyone loved it including the kids and the hubby said it was the best "fried" chicken we've ever made.
7 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Cathy Reviewed: 10/25/2011
Mine didn't look like that!
After I made this chicken there was nothing about it that screamed "try me again". Not a lot of flavor and it never got crusty, just a mushy sort of coating.
9 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Diane, AL Reviewed: 10/18/2011
Not worth the effort
Was excited to try this recipe for my parents and my DH and DS.(The reviews seem great.) Looked good,but the family took a couple of bites and left the rest on the plate and DH said it was awful. I could not eat because of the flour on it, so basing this review on the end results...food was left on the plate and compliments went to the vegetables and pie.
4 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: victoria Reviewed: 10/17/2011
GREAT AND NO Mess
Great taste and so easy. No messy grease splatters and healty too!! What more could a person who can cook want?
9 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Marcia, MD Reviewed: 10/17/2011
OK
The chicken meat was indeed moist and tasty but something was missing in the breading. Maybe just more salt? It seemed a bit blah, which surprised me given the seasonings you put in. I thought the amount of breading was just right, and had no problem with the sesame seeds burning in the oven.
7 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Jennifer, VA Reviewed: 10/16/2011
It's okay...
I was very excited to try this recipe and it was easy to make but... The breading needs a ton more salt and the marinade needs a bit more of something to flavor the meat. The chicken pieces should be turned over once during baking to ensure the coating gets crunchy all around.
8 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Paula Reviewed: 10/14/2011
A true family pleaser!
I have made a LOT of fried chicken, in a lot of styles, and this is certainly one of the best tasting easy versions I have found. My daughter loved it so much she snuck out of bed at 3 a.m. to finish off the leftovers. I would not leave the sesame seeds out of the baking mix...that browned nutty taste really makes a huge difference. And this is definitely not a mess... it was easy and tasty.
9 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Joy Reviewed: 06/06/2011
Wonderful
Roy- you should have made it before reviewing it! It came out fantastic: not nearly as messy to make as traditional friend chicken; slightly tangy, slightly spicy, and very moist- everybody loved it!
43 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: diane, MO Reviewed: 05/31/2011
Outstanding oven fried chicken!!
This is the BEST oven fried chicken EVER and it's a healthier one too! I've made this countless times and it turns out perfectly crispy and sooo moist! I thank who ever "invented" this wonderful recipe!! We don't feel as guilty eating fried chicken anymore!! :)
28 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: rick Reviewed: 05/31/2011
This is OK BUT...
This is an OK recipe but needs improvement. Let the chicken marinate for 12 to 24 hours, leave the sesame seeds out till after cooking (they will turn dark brown in the oven). Quick fry chicken first in 1/2 cup oil to set the skin color and turn crispy before you but in oven. Calories only go up 5%. Easy clean up.
16 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  13   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You