View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping Over $49
TastingTable Sweepstakes

Overnight Oatmeal


Source: © EatingWell Magazine
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  17   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
Rating: 5
by: Linda, OH Reviewed: 10/03/2013
Overnight Oatmeal
This is a delicious Oatmeal. I just love it. Since I do not have a house full I just use 1 cup steel cut oatmeal, 4 cups of water and a teaspoon of vanilla. Sometimes I add the dried fruit but other times I do not. Great breakfast.
3 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Caryn, NC Reviewed: 01/12/2013
Overnight oatmeal
I cook this every week night. I use 1/2 cup steel cut oats, 2 cups water, handful of craisins or dried blueberries - set cooker for 5 hours. Makes 2 servings. Yum! Good way to start my day!
11 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Terry Reviewed: 01/10/2013
I make this recipe freguently, and my family loves it.
12 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Michael, CA Reviewed: 01/10/2013
Steel-cut oatmeal
Excellent recipe! I make my oatmeal in the rice cooker but I've never cooked for 8 people. The rice cooker does a great job, - quick (1 hour) & easy.
14 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: George Reviewed: 09/21/2012
Oatmeal burned, yet was too soupy
I followed the recipe precisely, except I added 1/3 cup of slivered almonds. Seven hours later, I had a soupy mess, and the sides and bottom of the cooker burned the oatmeal. My Crock Pot has never burned anything else, and I use it often and for all kinds of recipes. Very disappointing.
21 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Denise Reviewed: 09/16/2012
This is great!
I have been making this for years. I add 5 or 6 mashed bananas to the crockpot along with the water and oatmeal. I set it on low before I go to bed and in the morning, I add 3/4 cup brown sugar and a couple of cups of frozen (or fresh) blueberries and let it go another hour or so. It does seem to take about 8 to 10 hours for it to "gel". I package it in individual serving size plastic containers and put in the freezer for a handy breakfast
26 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: heidi, PA Reviewed: 09/15/2012
Yummy
I halved the recipe and used 1 cup of milk and 3 cups water. Also added some brown sugar and cinnamon(my husband likes the little packets of instant oatmeal). The house smelled great when we woke up the next morning and the oatmeal was creamy and delicious. I bought an expensive, small crockpot which only has one setting and used that for the oatmeal.
19 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: LuAnn Reviewed: 09/15/2012
Overnight Oatmeal
My family loves this recipe! we vary the fruit once in a while but the cranberry/apricot is our favorite. It is easy to make during the day an reheat in the microwave. We do that because my crock pot runs very hot and it is usually creamy & ready in less than 8 hours. A little Splenda brown sugar blend and this is a real treat.We have great success with Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats. My Mom lives w/us and eats this everyday. has helped her diabetic & cholesterol numbers.
18 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Jane Reviewed: 09/14/2012
Challenge Accepted!
So this steel cut oatmeal recipe challenge has been going on since 2008. I accept! I am going to half the recipe, use the water per hours cooked suggestion and add more salt. I am also going to see if there are suggestions on the web for overnight. I predict I'll give it s "3."
16 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: William Reviewed: 09/14/2012
Soupy???
I can't IMAGINE how anyone could mess this up. I have been making it for years and the only time it failed, or was soupy, was when I forgot to plug in the crockpot! I have made it in a $4.99 crockpot I bought on Black Friday; in a 1 qt with removable insert; and in a full size 2-temperature model. Always perfect even though I may cook it from 6 to 10 hours on low. In the morning, you must stir it a bit with your serving ladle. We buy the oats in the bulk food aisle.
15 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  17   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You