View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping on orders of $40 or more
Dash of Diamonds and Pinch of Pearls Sweepstakes
Get Timely and Delicious Recipe Updates
 

Easy Almond Torte


Source:
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  8   Viewing: 1 - 8  
Rating: 5
by: Shirley, NV Reviewed: 04/14/2014
Perfection!
This is perfectly delicious. A note to all. A torte is not a cake. 2 tbsp of flour is more than most torte recipes contain. Also note that you should use an 8 inch cake pan, not a 9 inch. I think you'll love it if you prepare as directed.
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: me Reviewed: 11/29/2012
sichi@mebtel.net
Hello, do you really need 2 tbs flour for the cake or should that be 2 cups? Thanks! :) Looks and reads delicious..looking forward to baking it!
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Shregal Reviewed: 11/29/2012
Are the ingredients correct?
Is the amount of flour correct? Only 2 Tbsp? I would think it would need more than that to make 2 layers.
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Connie, CA Reviewed: 06/10/2012
Excellent!
This was an excellent dessert! Everyone loved it! I made a couple of modifications. Instead of apricot jam I used raspberry and I also added a little more powdered sugar to the whip cream topping. Next time I may add an additional layer of whip cream and some fresh mashed raspberries in the middle layer, and cut the almonds in the cake by 1/4-1/2 cup (with the additional almonds on the outside you don't need so many inside).
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: claire Reviewed: 06/09/2012
1 cup almonds????????
what does THAT mean? Did you mean GROUND almonds-that would make more sense-I think????Very confusing. A torte with WHOLE almonds?
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: dolly Reviewed: 06/07/2012
Gourmet Flavor
I made this recipe as written (using sliced almonds) but added a pinch of salt to both cake and filling. I used a food processor instead of a blender for the cake portion. The cakes tested done at 17 minutes. For the garnish, I tossed sliced almonds with sugar in a frying pan until caramelized. These added a crunchy, textural element that complimented the creamy topping and filling. They also looked quite attractive patted all over the top and sides. This is a delicious "adult" flavored dessert.
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Marleene, CA Reviewed: 06/05/2012
Questions about ingredients and method...
So, are we to measure whole almonds? blanched or with skins? ground almonds? Please clarify. Is it unbleached all purpose flour or cake flour? Since the cake contains no fat, do we grease, line and then grease the bottom lining of the pans or not? Should the sides be left ungreased to aid in supporting the egg batter? Really only 2 tablespoons of apricot jam for the filling? It seems like that amount would be totally absorbed by the cake--that is, disappear excepting bits of the fruit.
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Cynthia Reviewed: 02/08/2010
I wowed my guests!
This is easy to make and really was a hit with everyone!
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  8   Viewing: 1 - 8  
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You