View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping Over $49
Culinary Escape to Spain
Get Timely and Delicious Recipe Updates
 

Heavenly Hotcakes


Source:
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  11   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
Rating: 4
by: Denise, TX Reviewed: 03/14/2014
Almost like our family recipe
Our family recipe is called feathery pancakes from decades ago. It uses one tablespoon baking powder per half cup of flour, no baking soda, probably because uses whole milk instead . The tablespoon is a correct measurement. It makes a very light fluffy pancake except ours is Perfect for 2 people. Batter can't be saved once mixed. Never thought about adding vanilla, loved that.
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Judith Reviewed: 08/07/2013
Truly Heavenly
I am not a huge fan of pancakes but these were amazing! Made them just as the recipe indicated. They were fluffy and light and cooked through perfectly. My grandson (4 years) wanted them every morning when he visited! Thanks for a great addition to my recipes.
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Juanita Reviewed: 07/08/2013
good
Used unbleached whole wheat flour, used applesauce instead of butter, soy milk with vinegar instead of buttermilk. Hotcakes are light and fluffy, good. Used Clabber Girl baking powder - recommend using a different kind as I could taste the baking powder in these hotcakes. I have had this problem in one type of cookies I make also and switching brands of BP fixed the taste. Served with strawberries and with peanut butter and syrup and just syrup, tried plain - all are good. Husband liked also
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Edith, WI Reviewed: 06/21/2013
Recipe needs to be adjusted
These pancakes are delicious. However for 1 1/2 cups of flour 3 teaspoons of baking powder is plenty not 3 tablespoons. Other than that adjustment I followed the recipe and they are really good. Perhaps it was a misprint.
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: pat Reviewed: 06/15/2013
very ordinary
I was expecting something much more fluffy because of using so much baking powder, they did not raise as much as I expected, no more than any other recipe with far less baking powder, however they were light. Will return to my normal recipe.
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Daniel, NJ Reviewed: 06/14/2013
Definite Hit
Easy to make. Yes I used 3 Tbs of baking powder, they were great and unlike boxed mix, tasted good 5 days later when nuked!
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Daddy, NY Reviewed: 06/11/2013
I made it...I liked it!
I was concerned since this recipe has major typos and only uses 1 egg!. So, I made some assumptions and used 1+1/2 cups of all purpose flour and then I assumed that Glenn meant 3 teaspoonfuls of baking powder (not tablespoonfuls)and that he used unsalted butter. I also was careful to apply butter to my hot grill right before I added the mix to the griddle. Next time I will reduce my salt to 1/4 tsp. I made it and I liked it!
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Edward, NY Reviewed: 06/09/2013
Why the tingling on tongue?
Made the recipe as directed. (Ps editors check ingredients I presume you meant a cup an a half of FLOUR not four) Whole family got weird tingly mouth half way through. Were there other editorial/proof reading errors? Seemed like a lot of baking powder. Not using this recipe again.
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Mary Reviewed: 06/07/2013
Heavenly Hotcakes
3 TABLESPOONS of baking soda?! Really?
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Elizabeth Reviewed: 06/06/2013
YUMMY PANCAKES-breakfast or dessert
These are really good. Add a little more butter to the pan, and a little more buttermilk, the pancakes are thinner and crispy and put ice cream, berries, or other fresh fruit and/or whipped cream for dessert!
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  11   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You