View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping on orders of $40 or more
Dash of Diamonds and Pinch of Pearls Sweepstakes
Get Timely and Delicious Recipe Updates
 

Chicken and Sausage Jambalaya


Source:
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  12   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
Rating: 1
by: Tracey Reviewed: 10/17/2013
This Jambalya recipe missing a lot of ingredients
A trinity is onions, bell peppers and celery and that is one key to Jambalya. Since it is using a Louisiana dish it has some spices other than cayenne pepper even if you leave the heat out there would be no spices so that leaves this dish just a rice dish with chicken and sausage. I would not call this a Jambalaya at all. It is good as a rice dish but not as a Jambalaya.
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: KayKay Reviewed: 10/17/2013
Hmmmmmm....
This is what we, in South Louisiana, call chicken and sausage casserole. Once tomatoes go in it, Cajuns don't call it jambalaya. Note the Commander's Krewe Jambalaya recipe as a side on the same page with the recipe.
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Taylor Reviewed: 10/16/2013
Where's the creole?
Hate to say it but this recipe is wrong. There can be no Cajun/creole recipe especially jamabalya without the trinity, there is no celery and no bell pepper....sad.
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: susan Reviewed: 10/16/2013
there are NO tomatoes in jambalaya!!!
Why does everyone think there should be tomato in jambalaya? Disgusting to native born & bred people from Louisiana!
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Karen Reviewed: 10/16/2013
Spelling Error-please fix
The correct spelling for the meat in this recipe is "protein" not "protean".
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: lynne, CA Reviewed: 10/16/2013
Jambalalay Origins
The recipe is simple to make, tastes pretty good. It makes a good chicken & sausage meal. It is not jambalaya as I know it. The basic vegetables & seasonings that make jambalaya are missing. I'm missing my okra, green peppers, shrimp & seasonings that make this a true Creole or Cajun dish.
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: mitra Reviewed: 02/02/2013
Delish and Healthy (with a few changes)
This recipe is easy to make and delicious. I made a few changes as follows. I sprinkled the chicken with cinnamon and tumeric before cooking. I added some saffaron once I had put all the ingredients in. I also swapped brown rice for white rice. I used Turkey sausage with only 5 grams of fat per serving rathen than the fatty sausage version. The dish turned out to be a hit and it was healthy as well.
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Lori, CA Reviewed: 01/31/2013
Yummy
I also added green pepper (to complete the Trinity) and poached shrimp.
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Jayne Reviewed: 01/29/2013
What size???
I haven't tried the recipe yet. I want to know what size cans of petite diced tomatoes.
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Donna Reviewed: 01/29/2013
Love this
I make this all the time,except I also add shrimp and often use packaged Spanish rice (Rice-Roni works best) to save time, no need to add extra seasoning. I also like to add some peppers--usually chopped green--for visual appeal and just another vegetable.
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  12   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You