View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping Over $49
Culinary Escape to Spain
Get Timely and Delicious Recipe Updates
 

Sourdough Bread Stuffing with Leeks, Mushrooms and Bacon


Source:
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  10   Viewing: 1 - 10  
Rating: 5
by: Anthony, MN Reviewed: 11/20/2013
Wonderful!
This is the most requested stuffing I have made. The first year I made a single batch, the second year I made a double batch, and both years it was all gone; both years we had the same amount of people.
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Lee Reviewed: 11/25/2012
Mixed reviews
Recipe was too salty and tasted too strongly of bacon. I served for Thanksgiving and guests requested that I go back to my traditional chestnut, apple, cranberry stuffing. I often ad lib. This time I stuck pretty close to the recipe. If I made it again, I would use low sodium stock and not use the bacon drippings to saute - I'd microwave the bacon. Olive oil to saute would have tempered the bacon flavor. I added dried cranberries which helped offset the saltiness. I omitted the baking soda.
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Valerie, MI Reviewed: 11/22/2012
Our New Thanksgiving Stuffing!
I was visiting my daughter and family in Austin, TX and came across this recipe in my email. I made it for Thanksgiving and it was the best out of the turkey stuffing we've ever had! My family and their friends raved about it, and they all wanted the recipe. The sourdough bread and bacon are the stars of the recipe!!
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Georgie Reviewed: 11/18/2012
Sourdough bread stuffing
Can you tell me if this recipe will taste as good without mushrooms. Have and allergy to mushrooms.
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: child Reviewed: 11/12/2012
Why use baking powder?
This recipe sounds really delicious. This is the first recipe I've seen that calls for baking powder in stuffing. Why? Will the stuffing turn out just as well if I omit the baking powder?
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Jennifer Reviewed: 11/08/2012
Best I've ever tasted!
Made this last Christmas, and it was so good, my family asked me to make another batch the next day. Really easy to make, easy to double the batch. I used thick deli bacon so it would stand up in the mix, and it was great! This is our new traditional recipe. Thanksgiving and Christmas, and whenever I need a fancy side dish!
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Elizabeth, NM Reviewed: 12/02/2011
Best Stuffing Ever!!
This stuffing was absolutely delicious, and fairly easy to make. The whole family agreed this will be "our" stuffing from now on.
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Samantha, KS Reviewed: 11/24/2011
So Much Better Than Your Average Stuffing
Sourdough, mushrooms, leeks, oh my! This is by far the best stuffing I've ever had. Hub messed up and got maple flavored bacon instead of regular. I highly recommend you do the same. It's a mistake we're going to make every time we make this again!! Otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Made part the night before as it says you can and it turned out great.
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Betsy Reviewed: 11/19/2011
FANTASTIC RECIPE FROM EPICURIOUS 1995
Just came across this recipe from an email that was sent to me by Cooking.com. I have been making this EXACT recipe since 1995 from Epicurious. It is absolutely the most fantastic stuffing EVER. The flavors are out of this world. It is now the only stuffing I make and when I am asked to bring a dish for Thanksgiving, I am always told to bring this stuffing! I will never make another recipe! It is that good!
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Christina, CA Reviewed: 12/06/2010
This stuffing/dressing recipe is by far the best I have made. The mushrooms, leeks, sage and thyme worked beautiful together and the smokiness of the bacon complemented the earthiness of all the other ingredients. Toasting the bread until it was very dry was key in keeping the texture from turning into mush when the chicken broth was added. I prepared the stuffed the night before Thanksgiving and baked it the next day. Perfect side to any turkey this season!
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  10   Viewing: 1 - 10  
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You