View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping Over $49
America

Red Velvet Cake with Mystery Icing


Source:
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  7   Viewing: 1 - 7  
Rating: 5
by: Jennifer, FL Reviewed: 10/07/2013
Correct icing
This is the proper icing for this recipe! Delish!
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Brenda, FL Reviewed: 03/06/2012
the ONLY icing for RVC
This is the ONLY icing that should be used on red velvet cake. It compliments the delicate flavor of the cake without overpowering it. I have been making this old recipe for about 50 years. Many times we have had to make more than one cake for a birthday, due to it being consumed before the party! About the cake, I have never used Nesquik. My family recipe calls for cocoa powder, salt and red food coloring to be mixed into a paste and then added to the sugar and butter mixture.
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Connie, UT Reviewed: 12/30/2011
Original recipe from Waldorf Astoria
My sister received this recipe from her friend that got it from a woman that she baby sat for while this woman and her husband went on buying trips to New York. This woman bought the recipe from the chef at the Waldorf Astoria for $500 and that was more than 40 years ago. We have used 1/2 & 1/2 in place of the milk which makes a very rich creamy frosting. I have become lactose intolerant in my later years and now use coffee creamer (regular or fat free) in place of the milk.
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Judith Reviewed: 12/29/2011
Finally
Finally a posting with the classic frosting--it makes the cake what it's supposed to be.
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Rick Reviewed: 12/19/2010
Finally!!
This same recipe has been in my family at least 100 years.My aunt had it from her mother her mother also I think.The icing is awsome,I too double it.I think most do with this one.My mom lost it years ago.THANK YOU!!!I would love to know exactly how old this recipe is and it's origins.
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Gail Reviewed: 12/10/2010
At last. The "real" RVC recipe. I am so tired of seeing recipes & sold products with cream cheese frosting. This is the recipe I have been using for close to 40 years & is still the favorite of friends & family.
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Cynthia, PA Reviewed: 12/09/2010
Finally! The Right Frosting!!
I am so pleased to finally see someone post a recipe with the original frosting like my grandmother used to make. It should be a whipped confection made from half creamed butter & sugar, and half a creamy home-made pudding. Cream cheese frosting is for carrot cake, not Red Velvet cake. Over the years, cooks who were pressed for time began subbing cream cheese frosting for the original, and eventually it stuck. This is my favorite frosting and tastes great on just about everything.
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  7   Viewing: 1 - 7  
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards