View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping Over $49
America
Advertisement

Red Velvet Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting


Source: © EatingWell Magazine
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  10   Viewing: 1 - 10  
Rating: 4
by: Allance, HI Reviewed: 03/04/2013
Snake Making Machine
It looks very delicious and i can not wait trying this wonderful recipe. Thank you very much for sharing this.
6 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Jean, CA Reviewed: 03/03/2012
Flat &dense
I thought I'd try this recipe since it had wheat pastry flour. Followed directions as stated but the cake turned out flat and dense. It didn't taste good. I will stick to Martha Stewart's red velvet cake. It's the best.
7 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Doris Reviewed: 02/11/2012
Good 50 years ago, still good today.
This cake has been a family favorite for over 50 years. I heard the same legend when a friend shared the recipe with me at my bridal shower.
8 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: debbie Reviewed: 02/07/2012
missing something
it looks to me like the recipe is missing baking soda. i have made red velvet cupcakes twice and looked at loads of recipes and they all had baking soda and vinegar. those two ingredints could definitely affect rising, when i baked them they were crazy delicious, light and moist. so im thinking you should look for a different recipe if you're dreaming about red velvet cake!
7 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: marge Reviewed: 02/07/2012
made this tonite it is delicious, amazing recipe. i used low fat cream cheese,came out great.
9 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: Jeffrey, ME Reviewed: 02/06/2012
Red Food Dye (Die)
Have not tried recipe, but advise readers to avoid artificial food colorings, especially RED. Substitute ground annato powder or Beet Juice.
9 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Linda Reviewed: 10/27/2009
Would not recommend this receipe
This is by far the worst cake that I have ever baked. The cake did not rise and the taste was similar to packed sawduct covered with sweetened cream cheese. I would advise those wishing to make a red velvet cake to use a different receipe.
26 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Willard, CA Reviewed: 07/12/2009
Nice dessert
The cake was very tasty and relatively easy to make. I added fresh cut cherries to the middle and top layer to jazz it up. The only problem that I had was in the failure of the cake to rise properly. Don't know why. Perhaps not enough baking powder?
11 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: tim Reviewed: 05/19/2009
I am going to bake one for my roommate's birthday party this Saturday. And I will let you know the status... I am very excited about baking this and put my skill to the test...
149 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Virginia, CA Reviewed: 04/22/2009
Ingredients missing
where are the ingredients for this recipe???
21 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  10   Viewing: 1 - 10  
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards