View cart background image
0
items
Get Timely and Delicious Recipe Updates
 

Dirty Rice


Source: © EatingWell Magazine
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  17   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
Rating: 4
by: nicole Reviewed: 01/27/2012
Dirty, Schmirty.
OK, so it's not "Dirty Rice". I never had Dirty rice, so I don't care. I made it tonight and thought it was pretty good. I did NOT use chicken sausage, I used regular Andouille. I also ran out of bell peppers so I used little sweet peppers, red, orange and yellow. And no low sodium chicken broth, I used the Knorr stock globule. It has a nice delayed kick (1/2 tsp cayenne). I liked the amount of vegetables. I'd make it again. So there!
9 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Jim Reviewed: 01/12/2012
real vs palatable
First of all, the gizzard or liver does not give it color that makes it "dirty". The gizzard or liver being our body filters is what makes it dirty rice! These organs filter out impurities which is basic biology. Second, real dirty rice may not be palatable to most people. In conclusion, this is a recipe that is written to be palatable and healthy to the majority of the people. IMO
8 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Vlad Reviewed: 01/12/2012
Not Dirty Rice
Why oh why, in this prepackaged, falsely sanitized, big brother world do people insist on calling things what they are not, and OBSESSING over "nutrition"? You will die FAR earlier from your obsessing with "health" than if you just enjoy great tasting foods as is. GROW UP.
7 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Valerie, PA Reviewed: 01/12/2012
DIRTY RICE REVIEWS
I'm sorry, but NONE of these reviewers can tell me if this dish TASTES good!
7 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Pat Reviewed: 01/12/2012
NOT a "Dirty Rice" recipe!
Putting a recipe like this under the name Dirty Rice is misleading and dilutes value/trust of cooking.com. Re: recipe: volume of veg to rice is too high. Understand someone's objective was to make a healthy dish, but it is after all supposed to be a grain/rice dish. Very frustrating to search recipes have such a messy interpretation of a classic dish. Kind of like looking for lemon meringue pie only there's no lemon and no meringue and no crust.
5 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Art Reviewed: 01/11/2012
It's a "dirty shame" not a recipe for "dirty rice"
I hate it when people produce a "healthy version" of a great recipe. Just eat your tofu and leave the great tasting food to those of us that truly appreciate it.
3 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: deedee Reviewed: 01/11/2012
this is not dirty rice
Being from New Orleans I can tell you that this is not dirty rice, it is healthier, but not dirty rice, dirty rice is made with chicken livers or gizzards and has a butter in it and is not healty but great for a holiday or special occasion not to eat every day.
5 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Debra, OK Reviewed: 01/11/2012
Did anyone actually make this recipe?
Sounds yummy.... was just curious
5 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Charlinda, TX Reviewed: 01/11/2012
This is NOT Dirty Rice!
I was born and raised in South Louisiana and am an award-winning cook. This is NOT dirty rice, also known in Louisiana as Rice Dressing. Dirty rice is made with rice, onions, ground meat (usually a mix of ground beef and ground pork liver) green onions and bell pepper. What was presented here is more like jambalaya, but still pretty far from that as well.
6 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Andrea Reviewed: 01/11/2012
Regarding the comment by Lucille about the cooking time for the rice, brown rice DOES take about 50 minutes to cook, longer than white/basmati/jasmine rice.
7 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  17   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You