View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping Over $49
Culinary Escape to Spain
Get Timely and Delicious Recipe Updates
 

Easy Cranberry & Apple Cake


Source: Barefoot Contessa: How Easy Is That? by Ina Garten
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  14   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
Rating: 5
by: Sheri Reviewed: 01/28/2012
I made a few changes and it was out of this world
The recipe doesn't list nutritional statistics but I figured I've cut out a lot of calories and some fat by substituting 1 c splenda/brown sugar blend for the 1 cup sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar, using egg substitutes, and using plain greek yogurt for the sour cream. (I did use real butter. Nothing beats butter.) These changes might help Claudia who wanted more low sugar recipes.
12 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Barry Reviewed: 01/28/2012
Easy and deliscious
I made this recipe because I had all the ingredients on hand and didn't have to go out and buy anything. It came together easily. I had dried cranberries which are a lot sweeter than fresh, so I used a little less sugar. I haven't tasted it yet but my wife thought it was fantastic and a million times better than my blueberry scones, I thought the scones were quite good. I do think you can use more apple there were many more cranberries. But other than that no complaints, in the rotation.
4 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Robbie Reviewed: 01/28/2012
Easy & Delish!
Have made this 3 times (from In's recipe on FoodNetwork) & it is GREAT! Best served warm with ice or whipped cream. A real "keeper" in my recipe file.
4 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: celine Reviewed: 11/20/2011
eat warm with ice cream
this recipe was neither easy nor delicious. I found it complicated and very tart. It seemed like the crust should have had a tad of oil in it and a touch more liquid.
12 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Glinda Reviewed: 11/15/2011
Delicious!
This cake was incredibly easy and so good! I used a granny smith apple and a 10 oz. bag of frozen cranberries since that is what I had on hand. I also used all brown sugar. I made it last night and had some hot, then this morning had a cold slice for breakfast. Just the right balance of sweet and tart.
12 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: kathleen, CA Reviewed: 11/07/2011
Great Pan Dowdy!
I really love cranberries, but have always considered them too tart and dry to work in a pan dowdy application, but the brown sugar and orange juice really took care of all that! Wish I would have thought of it! I think this will be on my Thanksgiving table!!! :-) Loved it.
10 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: ginger Reviewed: 10/30/2011
Everyone wants to make it for Thanksgiving. Love
I made this for a group of college students and they all loved it and went back for seconds. Best with vanilla icecream. It was easy and delicious. Will probably make it for Thanksgiving! I will try using different fruits as well.
4 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Ann, VA Reviewed: 10/30/2011
WOW!
I made this two days in a row. My family loved it. I only got one small taste of it. I buy fresh cranberries in the store in the fall, and freeze dozens of bags to make recipes like this one all year round. We just got apples in the mountains and it was great timing that I found this recipe.
8 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Claudia Reviewed: 10/27/2011
cake
I did not try the cake as I am a type 2 diabetic. I wish you could do recipes with less sugar or a sub. for sugar. It sounds like a great cake would love to try it, can you help?
17 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Marcia Reviewed: 10/27/2011
I have made this cake a few times, and each time it came out consistently the same. My guests have all loved it. I serve it with fresh whipped cream, flavored with cassis. Very Good!
9 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  14   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You