View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping Over $49
Culinary Escape to Spain
Get Timely and Delicious Recipe Updates
 

Coffee & Cream Icebox Cake


Source: Fine Cooking - Issue 33
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  13   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
Rating: 5
by: Colleen, ON Reviewed: 09/06/2012
see you tube for demonstration on how to assemble
for those who are having trouble visualizing how to assemble this cake, this you tube demo might provide you with an alternate solution ... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QNGdA9TzULs
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Teri A, NY Reviewed: 08/26/2012
6 cup loaf pan, 4 rows?
Somehow, I'm having difficulty visualizing a loaf pan that has room for 4 rows of overlapping cookies. What am I missing in the instructions? I can see one row placement, every other cookie slightly overlapped for a nearly side by side second row but where do rows 3 and 4 go? Otherwise the recipe reads yummy as chocolate, coffee and hazelnuts is a winning combo, add heavy cream, gad that is just too, too!
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Lori Reviewed: 08/25/2012
how to place the cookes
To the person wanting to know how to place to cookies, look at the original recipe that this is based on at http://www.nabiscoworld.com/recipes/recipe.aspx?recipe_id=53331 and you can see it more clearly. Here they just added ingredients to the whipped cream.
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: JoAnn, NY Reviewed: 08/25/2012
To answer the question
I haven't made this one, but the '"classic" ice box cake.
1 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Ann Reviewed: 08/25/2012
How to assemble
I agree that these instructions are unclear. I have made the original "Icebox Cake" for years, and this would be a delicious flavor variation. Check the Famous Wafer package for their photo and directions. I make stacks of six or eight cookies, frosting each cookie and "smooshing" each stack gently as I go. Then I line the stacks up on their sides on the serving plate -- all in a row, like a log -- "smooshing" again as I go. Frost the outside and refrigerate so it "sogs" gracefully.
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Gail, VA Reviewed: 05/30/2012
Cookie Placement
If you look on the Fine Cooking website you will find a photo of this recipe which shows how to place the cookies (vertically). With the loaf pan facing you so that the long side runs from left to right, put 11 cookies vertically alternating with cream between the cookies on the left side from front to back. Place the second set of 11 cookies and cream to the right of the first set, overlapping the cookies slightly. Repeat two more times until you have 4 rows and the pan is filled.
13 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Sandy, TX Reviewed: 03/22/2012
Instructions
This is a wonderful, easy dessert. For those who can't figure it out, you can put the cream on one side of a cookie and top with another, then cream, then top with another, and keep going. When there are enough to stand them on end, making a "roll", do so, but just keep adding cookies and cream until all are used. Then cover with cream and refrigerate or freeze. If you slice it on an angle, you get lots of layers showing with each slice. Not hard.
8 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Flora Reviewed: 02/02/2012
Confused
What does "starting at the short end of the pan mean". I'm trying to figure out which way to place the cookies, and do you put the second row, etc. between the first row?? Sounds like a delicious desert and would like to try it.
7 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Cheryl Reviewed: 01/27/2012
Can't find the necessary wafers anywhere.
I would LOVE to make this, as a few others recipes I have using these wafers. However, finding these wafers is futile in my area. I live in a town about 50 miles south of Chicago and cannot find them anywhere. I have looked in the cookie section,the ice cream section,the ice cream cone section,and have talked with a few vendors as well. They vaguely remembered them from childhood,but have never seen them while working. I know that Amazon.com selles them, but you must buy a very expensive caseful
3 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Beverly Reviewed: 01/27/2012
Icebox Cake
I've made this cake for many years but never made it with coffee. It's my family's favorite cake! It goes together easily and quickly! Put in the fridge overnight is enough to soften the cookies for cutting. Make sure to cover it with lots of cream so the chocolate doesn't bleed thru. Slice it on an angle to get all the layers on the plate. Yummy, delicious!! I'm going to make one over the weekend!!
4 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  13   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You