View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping Over $49
Culinary Escape to Spain
Get Timely and Delicious Recipe Updates
 

Maple-Walnut Coffee Cake


Source: Cooking.com
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  24   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 3 < Back Next > 
Rating: 4
by: Jeff, CA Reviewed: 11/28/2013
Tasted Good, but......
I followed the direction, but the streusel I pi
7 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: belinda, CA Reviewed: 03/13/2012
great coffeecake
I have baked a lot of coffecakes and this one is absolutely great. I used pure vermont maple syrup and toasted the walnuts. This is five cups from our family.
7 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: Mareta Reviewed: 03/08/2012
Maple Walnut Coffeecake
Made the coffeecake this morning with a small (Jiffy) cake mix and in a 8" square pan. The streusel sunk to the bottom and left me with a lot of plain cake with a sticky bottom.
4 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Shirley Reviewed: 01/16/2012
Easy and Delicious
My family is glad I stayed up late last night to make this coffeecake for today’s breakfast! I followed the recipe exactly and the result is moist, tender and flavorful. The walnuts, cinnamon and maple syrup blend nicely to produce a satisfying streusel. The syrup gives an agreeable sweetness and a subtle maple flavor. Those wanting a more pronounced maple taste might use maple sugar instead of white sugar, or add some maple flavoring to the batter or streusel.
7 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Kathy, CT Reviewed: 01/15/2012
A Definite Keeper!
My family loved this coffee cake, not too sweet with lots of walnuts! Delish!
5 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: angie Reviewed: 01/15/2012
maple walnut cake
this cake is amazing, i'm eating it right now.only made one change,the walnuts to almonds,but that was it.will make this again and again. thanks for the recipe
4 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Jean Reviewed: 01/13/2012
Maple Walnut Coffeecake
To: by: pearse, IA Reviewed: 03/17/2009. Yes! You can substitute regular maple syrup for the more expensive pure stuff, but you will degrade the flavor, however, you can boost the maple flavor with Maple Extract, which many people seemed to ignore or not know about! To: by: Janus Reviewed: 07/21/2011. Sour Cream Substitute: About.com Guide - http://southernfood.about.com/od/ingredientsubstitutions/r/bl40318p.htm Substitutes will never take the place for the real McCoy, but... Good Cake!
5 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Grace, IN Reviewed: 01/13/2012
Maple Walnut Coffeecake
Delicious and moist! I followed the recipe exactly, except I baked it in stoneware with a sheet pan under the stoneware. My oven is too hot and this helps the sides and bottom not to bake so quickly.
3 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Connie Reviewed: 01/12/2012
Substitute ingredients
For those wanting to know about substitutions. Yogurt can be substituted for sour cream and for maple syrup you could use any pancake syrup or try a coffee flavoring syrup like vanilla or hazelnut same amount as the maple syrup. It would change the flavor but maybe that is what you were wanting.
7 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: carol Reviewed: 01/12/2012
very simial to a sour cream coffee cake
for janus---you can substitute yogurt or even cottage cheese for the sour cream. yogurt works well and if it is maple, will acent the cake!
6 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  24   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 3 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You