View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping Over $49
Get Timely and Delicious Recipe Updates
 

Chilaquiles Casserole


Source: © EatingWell Magazine
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  12   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
Rating: 5
by: Edward Reviewed: 05/07/2012
Simple - Delicious with modifications
I was attracted because of the combination of ingredients. Slight modifications were made, more salt and spicy tomatoes to give more flavor. Easy and wonderful to have around or quick for unexpected guests.
3 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Elizabeth Reviewed: 05/07/2012
VEGETARIAN CHILAQUILES
This is a variation of an original VEGETARIAN TIMES recipe from the 90's. It is a vegetarian version of chilaquiles and this posted version is much soggier than the original which contains NO enchilada sauce or corn. Although the corn is a nice touch, do not drown your dish with the enchilada sauce. The moisture from the zucchini and tomatoes is plenty once it's baked.
3 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Joy, TX Reviewed: 05/05/2012
Versatile and Delicious
I don't care what this recipe is called, and I certainly didn't miss it not calling for any kind of meat. This is a great base recipe to do whatever you want. I used fresh tomatoes, added a chopped carrot and some garlic, and spiced it up a little with some chili powder, black pepper, and a homemade chili gravy instead of enchilada sauce. Next time, I'll probably add a chopped jalapeno or two. You certainly could add some kind of meat if you wished, but I didn't miss it.
2 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Lynda, WI Reviewed: 04/30/2012
No Meat??????
I read and re-read this recipe several times. I was looking specifically to see what kind of meat to use, ground beef or shredded chicken, it seems to be missing. I don't think I will be making this hotdish without adding ground beef, otherwise my family would not eat it unless it were served as a side dish to another main course.
4 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: Kristen, OH Reviewed: 04/29/2012
These are NOT authentic chilaquiles
This recipe sounds decent, but these are in no way how chilaquiles (chee-lah-KEE-lays) are made in authentic Mexican restaurants. 1st, there is no chili powder, or shredded chicken(where's the protein?), also you need to add a can of diced green chilis,use Monterey Jack and/or Queso Fresco as the cheese (some cheddar is OK, but not alone). Ditch the zucchini, corn, and black beans and use them for a side dish/making a salsa TOPPER for these, maybe, adding fresh tomatoes & cilantro, lime juice.
3 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: randy Reviewed: 04/29/2012
not chiliquilles but a tortillia casarole
this is in no way chiliquilles but a tortilla casarole recipe. chiliquilles are a very humble and simply made dish derived from being able to use up the left over tortillas from the day before. just simply lightly fry up or dry out the previous days tortillas and then fry them up in a pan and dowse them with your favorite enchilada sauce or with some left over salsa you have on hand. once they have absorbed the sauce and have soften up serve them with crumbled cotija cheese or crema.
4 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Teri Reviewed: 09/26/2011
Wonderful-great for potlucks
I wanted something quick and easy to make for a potluck at work. This fit the bill and was delicious too! Everyone loved it; so much so that I did not have any leftovers! The only thing I changed was adding sliced olives on top. Will be making this again and again.
14 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Sharon, TX Reviewed: 05/05/2011
This is fabulous!
This dish is incredible. Have already made it twice for my family. And, it is so easy. Highly recommend.
7 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Terry Reviewed: 05/10/2010
Great taste and easy assembly, plan on it again.
All I need to do is keep the ingrediats in stock at all times, very easy recipe. Great taste and easy to add your favorite ingrediants to it. The corn tortilla's give it a tamales feel, served with salsa, sour cream and chips - it is fantastic.
14 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: lori Reviewed: 10/06/2009
I made this casserole and my husband loved it, and he doesn't usually "love" anything. I used more tortillas than suggested and also added another can of beans (also used whatever beans I had in the pantry). This really was very good and definitely will make it again.
26 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  12   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You