View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping on orders of $40 or more
Dash of Diamonds and Pinch of Pearls Sweepstakes
Get Timely and Delicious Recipe Updates
 

Bacon-Wrapped Water Chestnuts


Source:
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  18   Viewing: 11 - 18   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
Rating: 5
by: Rhonda Reviewed: 12/31/2012
in the spirit of Bacon+anything is good...
Hi, I admit I have not tried this one,but it's very similar to another form: Bacon-wrapped dates. Do the same thing, but don't use the sauce, it doesn't need it. You might have to change the bake time, and it's good to use the broiler pan to let the fat drip off. It's wonderful. Thought you might like it. hope you do...
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Sherry Reviewed: 12/31/2012
Holy Moly!!
Just found these in my e-mail today. Sound terrific and easy. I like Judy's idea of draining them but I think I will put then in a "double" pan, punching holes in the top alummion pan to drain while cooking.
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Doris Reviewed: 07/10/2010
Wonderful!!!
Fixed this for a neighborhood gathering and everyone loved it. Had several people ask for the recipe. Very easy to preapre. I will do this often.
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Thomas, FL Reviewed: 07/06/2010
Impressive taste, very easy to make
I doubled the recipe and served with a glass of red wine!
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Joanne, ON Reviewed: 05/02/2010
Bacon wrapped anything.
I love anything with bacon. Try this with stuffed green olives instead of the water chestnuts. Delicious and a crowd pleaser. easy to do.
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Sam Reviewed: 01/28/2010
Bacon-Wrapped Water Chestnuts
The way I first had these was you wrapped the chestnuts in the bacon - then baked - then dipped into am mixture of ketchup and a little brown sugar - then baked again until the ketchup sorta glazed over, almost like a candy apple. The chili sauce sounds like a good way also. Little more bite than the ketchup!
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Judy Reviewed: 01/25/2010
Really good!
These are really terrific and people love them. The first time I made them, there was a lot of bacon fat in the bottom of the pan. So, the second time I baked them without the chili sauce for about a half hour. Then I drained them and added the sauce and finished baking - a lot less fat. A little difficult to maneuver the chestnuts as I was draining and then adding sauce, but worth the effort.
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Sarah, CA Reviewed: 12/21/2009
Retro Goodness
I admit to fresh, natural ingredient tendencies. I also don't eat a lot of meat. I also thought that "chili sauce" was something like Sriracha Asian hot sauce, until my sloppy-Joe-making significant other set me straight. (FYI: Chili sauce is a supermarket item that's a lot like spiced ketchup. I used Heinz! Live and learn.) And I also thought...that these were delicious. Salty, saucy, crunchy, smoky, and deeply retro cool, if you need to rationalize. Guests will Hoover them up, guaranteed.
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  18   Viewing: 11 - 18   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You