View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping on orders of $40 or more
Dash of Diamonds and Pinch of Pearls Sweepstakes
Get Timely and Delicious Recipe Updates
 

Hamburger Buddy


Source: © EatingWell Magazine
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  11   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
Rating: 1
by: Elaine Reviewed: 09/26/2012
Awful!
Made this exactly as outlined in recipe. I could not get past the third bite. I've never thrown an entire meal away, but this went into the trash. Not sure what could have saved it. Better luck next time.
14 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: alexa Reviewed: 09/25/2012
taste great with a few adjustments
Great. w/ adjust. after reading d other reviews and here they r: season meat w/ salt, pepper and a tsp of marsala wine put in fridge while prep(you won't need salt and pepper again) Don't process veggies, cut onion and garlic in small pieces, mushrooms in slices not too thin and shred carrots, d elbows I made apart in chicken broth. I did this: do meat leave add veggies and leave, add 3/4 cup of broth, flour,1tbs worcestershire no water,cooked pasta mix. Serve n garnish w/ sour cream n parsley
17 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Susan Reviewed: 09/24/2012
Why in the world?????
Puree the vegetables in a food processor to be unrecognizable to kids? Offer them vegetables in vegetable form. Use the kitchen and family dining table to set an example and teach them to eat real food.
17 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: FoodieAGoGo Reviewed: 10/07/2010
Concept OK but it needs alot of work
The idea brought back memories of liking Hamburger Helper as a kid. In reality this wasn't good, way too much thyme but not enough overall flavor. Veggies turn into a puree not finely chopped. The carrotts gave a bit of sweetness so in a red sauce and to hide veggies from kids this could be a good sauce concept but needs work and flavor. Won't make again.
14 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Todd Reviewed: 06/29/2010
Needs something
This needs something. A little lemon and something to sweeten it. The sour cream is okay, but a heavy cream or maybe a creamy cheese would be better. The tang of the sour cream can stick out.
15 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Delilah Reviewed: 05/05/2010
Horrible!
I made this recipie for my husband & I, thinking it be a good dish to make with hamburger, something different. But it was horrible! I threw the whole thing away! No flavor! I made it according to the directions! I agree cooking the pasta in the same pot didn't make sense. This not only look horrible but tasted bad! We didn't eat it & threw it all away! Bad recipie! Sorry!
15 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Kristi Reviewed: 03/15/2010
Very Good Ground Beef recipe
I made this according to directions and served it in a bowl. It was very tasty and thickened up overnight. It didn't look nice but tasted good. I will make this again. My 9, 7 and 4 year old ate it and told me it was good (had to force them to try it, but liked it once they did!)
16 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Michael, WA Reviewed: 03/01/2010
Even My 16 Month old Ate It!
So simple and easy and tasted really good too!
19 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Samantha, CA Reviewed: 09/14/2009
Easy and Quick for Last Minute Meal
this was great as we had all the ingredients already, except the fresh mushrooms, which i substituted for a can of cream of mushroom soup. it helped thicken the sauce and negated the need for sour cream. i also used a purple onion instead of yellow, and rotini instead of elbow pasta. served with a side of steamed broccoli. the 3 yr old liked it.
14 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Bev, WA Reviewed: 09/13/2009
Horrible Stuff!
I made the mistake of following the recipe to the letter. Pulverizing the veggies is a huge mistake, as is cooking the pasta in the same pot. Perhaps the dish would be better without all the water and beef stock, and the pasta cooked separately. I could not eat it and suggested to hubby that he did not have to either. The diplomat that he is, he ate it all, then finished off mine, but said the presentation was horrible. The dish looks like something someone already ate and threw up.
21 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  11   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You