View cart background image
0
items
Get Timely and Delicious Recipe Updates
 

Muffin-Tin Crab Cakes


Source: © EatingWell Magazine
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  11   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
Rating: 4
by: Kristen Reviewed: 12/09/2011
Another alternative...
When I was growing up, we didn't have a lot of money. My Mom used to make us "tuna patties" for an inexpensive dinner. Try substituting tuna for the crab (either oil or water-packed, but drained), and YES, add Old Bay instead of celery salt, and be sure to use FRESH bread crumbs. They are really good. Several other reviewers have used DRIED commercial bread crumbs, which have absolutely NO moisture. I think if you follow these tips, you will end up with better results as far as "dryness."
17 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: SUZANNE Reviewed: 12/08/2011
Too many breadcrumbs!
When cooking with something that has a delicate flavor, such as crab, you really need to downplay the other ingredients so that the crab flavor really comes through. This recipe has so much breadcrumb filler that I find it unappealing.
14 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: John, IA Reviewed: 12/08/2011
Yep! GOTTA have the Old Bay!
A regular muffin tin makes HUGE crab cakes! For an appetizer, use MINImuffin pans, and reduce baking time accordingly. Maryland crab cakes must incorporate Old Bay seasoning. NO exceptions! White breadcrumbs are fine. Then go by two things: taste and texture. If the pre-baked mixture doesn't taste right, add what needs to be added. The bell pepper should be to taste, and don't overdo the celery salt or hot sauce. Make sure the batter is creamy. Don't let the cakes dry out in the oven!
17 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: William, NM Reviewed: 12/08/2011
Not great, not horrible
I made this exactly as stated and found the product to be dry and lackluster. The taste of crab is drowned by the other ingredients. Having said that, the only time I have ever had an incredible crab cake, my grandmother in law who lived on the Cheasapeak bay was cooking just trapped crabs. So, I am fortunate to have had that experience. Unfortunately, everything else has been an also ran.
14 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Maribeth Reviewed: 11/11/2011
It's ain't a crab cake without Old Bay, hon!
Pardon the vernacular, but Old Bay is a must in any crab dish. And red pepper is traditionally used in crab imperial. However, it is a great way to make a lot of cakes uniformly as long as you keep them on the creamy side so they don't dry out. I might try making it with this recipe and a tweaking a la Maryland and see how they stack up. The original recipe does sound yummy. Great concept.
33 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Beverly Reviewed: 08/15/2011
Muffin Top Pan
I have muffin top pans and may try using them instead of regular muffin tins, and bake for a shorter time.
17 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: Patty Reviewed: 01/03/2011
Muffin Tin Crab Cakes
Much better the second day. Were way too dry in my opinion, and that of another cook. Wed ingredients weren't enough to barely moisten the bread crumbs. I used commercial. I would probably put in another egg and more mayo if I were doing it again.
24 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Doretta Reviewed: 01/04/2010
Muffin-Tin Crab Crakes
I served one cake as a first course accompanied by a few jumbo shrimp cocktail. They were good, but if I were to make this again, I'd use a lot less bread crumbs and hope that they still would stay together. As the recipe is now, the bread overshadows the crab meat. Also, I substituted the celery salt with equal parts of celery seed and sea salt. That, plus a little more red pepper, confetti diced, gave these cakes good flavor. Baking them is a nice and healthy change too.
39 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: CL Reviewed: 12/21/2009
Lacks Flavor
Final product lacked flavor and was very dry. I couldn't consider it a substitute for a crabcake.
40 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Jen Reviewed: 07/22/2009
turned out perfectly
I didn't even use a muffin tin. I rolled into balls and placed on a cookie sheet. 20 minutes at 425 on convection. They had enough kick and flavor to be considered for a potluck!
99 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  11   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You