View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping Over $49
America

Spanish Tortilla


Source: © EatingWell Magazine
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  9   Viewing: 1 - 9  
Rating: 4
by: Shirley, NV Reviewed: 10/01/2012
Looks fantastic!
This looks very much like a frittata which I prefer over a quiche. The combination of ingredients compliment each other very well. Great brunch item.
20 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: dorine, DE Reviewed: 09/30/2012
This Is No Tortilla Española!
1. True tortilla española found all over Spain does *not* contain spinach or cheese. It has eggs, potatoes, & maybe onion &/or garlic plus salt, maybe pepper. Thyme is an utterly foreign concept! Lose the paprika, too. 2. Lose the extra egg whites & triple the amount of potatoes. 3. Quadruple the olive oil (no other kind please) if you want it to taste like Spain. 4. Don't dice the potatoes; thinly slice them. And use all-purpose potatoes, not red ones. It will make a difference in the texture.
25 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Lydia, NY Reviewed: 09/30/2012
Pat's Right
The reviewer, Pat, is correct; a Spanish tortilla consists of potatoes, onions and eggs. Occasionally, the Spaniards like to add sliced chorizos. I've had it many times over a lifetime with my Spanish friend. When we went on a "Spanish picnic," the tortilla was the mainstay of the picnic lunch. It's great hot, cold or in between.
18 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Christine Reviewed: 09/30/2012
Excellent for breakfast, lunch or a light dinner.
I have to disagree with the review saying that an "authentic" tortilla does not contain greens or cheese and that this is more like a quiche. A quiche has a crust for one thing. This does not. The only similarity between this and a quiche is the custardy texture. I have had many tortillas in Spain and in Mexico and there are as many variations as there are ingredients in the house! Often, the leftovers from last nights dinner are used in the breakfast tortilla. That said, I love this recipe!
23 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: lillian, TX Reviewed: 09/30/2012
NOT A SPANISH TORTILLA!
Certainly, not a Spanish tortilla! A tortilla never has cheese or spinach - and definitely no cumin. Why don't enjoy the real thing instead of trying to make it something else? However, a dash of good roasted Spanish paprika is a good touch. Sliced potatoes, for sure, and fresh, not pre-cooked; whole eggs, no whites are ever added. Try it with a glass of a good Tempranillo.
17 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: Carmen, PR Reviewed: 09/30/2012
Not the real thing
The original Spanish Tortilla has only potatoes, onions and eggs. No greens and spices are limited to salt, pepper and an optional clove of garlic. I should know since I lives there for 7 yrs and have many Spanish friends in the food business.
15 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: Michael, PA Reviewed: 09/30/2012
Not The Way My Grandfather Made It
My grandfather came from Spain; Tortilla was a common dish. The dish is so simple but delicious. I dice potatoes in 1/4" cubes; cook them in a frying pan to soften them up as well as browning them; salt, pepper, garlic power added when cooking. Do the same to onions. I would say to use about 4-6 potatoes and one very large onion. In a clean seasoned cast iron fry pan. Combine the potatoes and onions and place on low-med heat while beating 4-6 eggs. Pour them in then flip. Serve by cutting slices
21 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Pat Reviewed: 03/08/2012
Tastes good
This recipe is more of a quiche than a Spanish Tortilla. The authentic tortilla does not have greens or cheese in it, just potatoes, eggs, onions, salt and olive oil. The tortilla looks better if the potatoes are sliced instead of cubed. Parboiling them for three minutes is easy. Also, if you use a skillet that can go in the oven, cook the tortilla on the top of the stove until the eggs set, then put the tortilla under the broiler to cook the top, instead of flipping it.
267 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Kristen, OH Reviewed: 03/08/2012
Sounds like a great recipe, and will try it, with.
This is probably a good authentic "Spanish" dish, but I am a total "Mexican" food FREAK! I will try this for breakfast this weekend, and "Mexican-ize" it by adding about 1/2 tbsp. cumin, 1 tbsp. chili powder, 1 tsp. ground coriander, and top with sour cream and some cilantro! YUM! Will let you know how it goes :)
23 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  9   Viewing: 1 - 9  
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards