View cart background image
0
items
Get Timely and Delicious Recipe Updates
 

Classic Green Bean Casserole


Source: Campbell’s® Kitchen
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  40   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 3 4 < Back Next > 
Rating: 3
by: Andrea, NV Reviewed: 11/05/2013
Old school recipe
Ok, dude read the recipe, the can is the mushroom soup, not fried onions! That being said, I only added this dish to holidays when my husband wanted me, because his deceased mom used to make it. I don't use canned, or frozen anything. So if one has a brain, and a desire to prepare a dish like this, start from scratch! Fresh beans; fry your own onions; prepare your mushrooms from fresh;it will take alot longer, but it will be GREAT! I don't use soy sauce because of the sodium, cheers!
2 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Emma, TX Reviewed: 11/25/2012
It can be good..
it depends on who cooks it. I have had a good green bean casserole. I make it with fresh precooked green beans, add extra mushrooms and season it with extra fresh ground peppercorns. Tweak it. The fried onions in an can? That is what makes it good!! I buy those for a snack sometimes. I love them. They must be warmed a little or the grease sticks to the top of your mouth!
13 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Tanya Reviewed: 11/23/2012
Iagree with Zan
I agree with the review by 'Zan', no one in my family will eat this casserole. I created my own using cream cheese, co-jack cheese, cream of chicken soup and more...it's creamy, rich, full of flavor, meaty and deliscious! Why anyone would serve the gloppy, tasteless regular dish, I just don't know! Whoever created it must have no taste.
10 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Gail, ME Reviewed: 11/22/2012
A Great Holiday Side
Although most of you think that this is a boring & soggy side is that you need to have an imagination with this one. If you have any food sense at all try adding different spices,flavorings or toppings to it. Also cut back on liquids if too soggy for your tastes,or cut liquids with some kind of binder (corn starch or flour) You'll be amazed with the outcome!
14 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Brenda, MO Reviewed: 11/21/2012
Very Basic recipe...I kick it up a bunch!!
I have made this for years but I am the kind of cook that reinvents classic dishes so they taste GREAT!! I leave out the soy sauce (too salty) and add "some" melted butter and "some" shredded cheese (cheddar, colby, Co-Jack etc) Makes a world of difference...actually has lots of flavor... becomes a true comfort food.
15 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Laurie Reviewed: 11/21/2012
Tasty
This may not be the healthiest recipe, but for so many of us who grew up with this dish, it's comfort food, and we throw caution to the wind on holidays and serve it up anyway! I add sliced water chestnuts for a little crunch and use only the soup, no milk. Omit the soy sauce and use Worcestershire sauce instead. Sometimes tradition trumps gourmet!
15 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Phyllis Reviewed: 11/21/2012
High in calories--low in taste
I agree with the reviewer who wonders why so many people still like this recipe. Fresh green beans with butter and toasted almonds or with shallots tastes much better and is better for you. Any other actual good green bean recipes?
9 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Linda, IL Reviewed: 11/21/2012
I don't get it . . .
This was the recipe of the day, the day before Thanksgiving. Really??? Sorry to those who actually like this, but I have had this a couple of times when friends made it, and I just can't think of anything good about it. Overcooked canned or frozen green beans with overprocessed other canned ingredients, further baked into a mushy casserole. You should have a zero cup rating because it's hard for me to give it even one cup. Give me a crisp fresh vegetable any day instead of this.
13 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Joseph, NE Reviewed: 11/21/2012
Secret Ingredient
What I really liked about this recipe writeup is where they said it's so good because of "a secret ingredient - cream of mushroom soup". This recipe hasn't changed in probably 50 years. It is the grandfather of every cream-of-mushroom-casserole recipe ever invented, and there are a LOT of 'em. In fact practically the only thing Campbell's C of M is USED for is casseroles. When I read those words "secret ingredient" I started laughing so hard my dogs jumped up and started barking.
17 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Mary, OR Reviewed: 11/21/2012
Good improvement to classic green bean casserole
I have a variation of this recipe that adds finely grated onion and swiss cheese to it prior to baking in the oven (a reply to Denise's posting on 11-19-2012)
13 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  40   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 3 4 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You