View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping Over $49
Culinary Escape to Spain
Get Timely and Delicious Recipe Updates
 

Classic Green Bean Casserole


Source: Campbell’s® Kitchen
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  40   Viewing: 11 - 20   Page 1 2 3 4 < Back Next > 
Rating: 1
by: Brenda, MO Reviewed: 11/21/2012
Very Basic recipe...I kick it up a bunch!!
I have made this for years but I am the kind of cook that reinvents classic dishes so they taste GREAT!! I leave out the soy sauce (too salty) and add "some" melted butter and "some" shredded cheese (cheddar, colby, Co-Jack etc) Makes a world of difference...actually has lots of flavor... becomes a true comfort food.
15 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Joseph, NE Reviewed: 11/21/2012
Secret Ingredient
What I really liked about this recipe writeup is where they said it's so good because of "a secret ingredient - cream of mushroom soup". This recipe hasn't changed in probably 50 years. It is the grandfather of every cream-of-mushroom-casserole recipe ever invented, and there are a LOT of 'em. In fact practically the only thing Campbell's C of M is USED for is casseroles. When I read those words "secret ingredient" I started laughing so hard my dogs jumped up and started barking.
17 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Sharon Reviewed: 11/19/2012
Old school & loving it!
This is something that most of us grew up on. It is about taste and tradition folks. We only eat this once a year and in moderate portions. Any Dr. will tell you that small portions and not often is OK. Thanks for posting the original recipe. It will be on our table and we will enjoy every bite.
11 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Denise Reviewed: 11/19/2012
Can this recipe be improved??
While this is a holiday recipe favorite, I was wondering if there are others out there that can improve on it so that it does not come out so mushy and so tasteless! What are your ideas?
7 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Sally, CA Reviewed: 11/08/2012
QUICK & EASY DELICIOUS EVERYDAY VEGETABLE
I'v never understood anyone that loves to write a NEGATIVE review when they have no intention in cooking it (how sad). I'm a very positive person especially during all Holidays. I always have one green and one yellow vegetable for all holiday dinners. If I don't have something new and I don't make my Broccoli, Wild Rice and Cheese Casserole then I do make the Green Bean Casserole (YUM). I always make enough for left overs to go with the Turkey Dressing...tow of my favoriates.
13 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Stacy Reviewed: 12/15/2011
New and delicious to me!
I grew up in a very European family. Most holidays were spent feasting on foods with decidedly exotic overtones. I had heard of this green bean cassarole by many people but had never had the pleasure of sampling it. It was like a breath of fresh air! Finally an American classic on my holiday menu everyone loved it and the old guard members of my family who refuse to relinquish the bonds of tradition were not there to criticize. I think it is a great way to dress up green beans for the holidays!
11 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Pat Reviewed: 11/25/2011
My family LOVES this recipe. I have used other brands & other versions of the recipe and gotten poor reviews from my family, but the recipe & brands in your recipe are a big hit! It will continue to be a staple in my kitchen.
5 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Irene, AR Reviewed: 11/24/2011
Green bean casserole
Surely with all the recipes on the Internet one could come up with a more gourmet recipe for green beans. Yuk!
7 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Jeff, CA Reviewed: 11/24/2011
Avoid the processed ingredients
skip the recipes that use things like Campbell's Cream of Mushroom soup. The sodium content is astronomical and you can get better taste with a simple homemade mushroom cream base.
12 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Deborah Reviewed: 11/24/2011
Green Bean Casserole
In any recipe, you have to tweak it to your satisfaction. Just as dressing, or stuffing as some people calls it. I always put some of the turkey in mine. You can do the same with green bean casserole by adding meat, cheese, ritz crackers, etc., etc. It is up to the people who are cooking, and everyone's suggestion to make a dish taste good. Never over do it when you are tweaking a recipe. Add different flavors that everone would like. Play around with recipes.
5 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  40   Viewing: 11 - 20   Page 1 2 3 4 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You