View cart background image
0
items
Get Timely and Delicious Recipe Updates
 

Classic Green Bean Casserole


Source: Campbell’s® Kitchen
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  40   Viewing: 31 - 40   Page 1 2 3 4 < Back Next > 
Rating: 4
by: Suz Reviewed: 11/10/2009
It's Tradition.....
The reason this is posted is because it is a traditional Thanksgiving recipe. I use Roasted Garlic Cream of Mushroom soup to make this dish. Up until I was in my twenties - this was the only way I would eat green beans...
12 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Linda Reviewed: 11/10/2009
Substitute Worcheshire instead of soy MAGIC
We love this dish. Cut down on everything a bit, spice it up with worchesire sauce instead of soy. Delish!!!!!
23 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: RUTH, FL Reviewed: 11/09/2009
Needs Update
I have never cared for this recipe. Putting 2/3 of the onions in the casserole makes it too think and a little gummy. I have had this made by others many times. I made minor changes. Half can of mushroom soup (freeze the leftover part). I use half and half instead of milk. Follow directions in the traditional recipe. When it is done, pour the whole can of onions on top and return to oven for ten minutes to slightly brown the onions. I have been told several times that my version is the best.
8 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Robert Reviewed: 11/09/2009
My family enjoys this age old recipe along with the numerous other casserole dishes that are served at our holiday feast. Some don't like green beans to begin with andd that could be the case with Zan. I didn't see any alternatives offered for this dish. I will continue to eat this so long as green beans are available. i'm not a fan of sweet potatoes, but I won't stop others that are!
11 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Mary, WA Reviewed: 11/09/2009
It's Tradition Zan!
Everyone knows this old favorite, and I agree it must be a marketing ploy by Frenches Onions. But, some people LIKE ME, love those crunchy onions. I also add a few saute onions in mine, and MORE Frenches on top. Another reason I like it, is that it is simple to make, and when you are doing so many other things, SIMPLE is the key. I also add a bit of "OLD BAY" seasoning and a bit more pepper. Also, the flvor of the green beans goes well w/ onions, and the soup just brings it all together.
13 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Susanne Reviewed: 11/09/2009
Yuck
I agree; horrible stuff. I've got to make it (we're hosting a fire chief's luncheon and apparently this is traditional). Can't believe I'm making three pans of this stuff! At least I don't have to use canned beans; that would make it totally inedible in my opinion.
17 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Hannah Reviewed: 11/09/2009
It is unclear to me why this recipe is being promoted on this website. Its nothing but processed food being thrown together for a sodium filled soggy mess. It is yet another example of empty calories masquerading as food. Why wasn't this recipe re-imagined as something fresh & delicious? I give this recipe 0 cups.
28 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Marsha Reviewed: 11/09/2009
This recipe is delicious!
This is a tradition in our house. It is very delicious. I would not be a holiday dinner without this casserole. If it was soggy Zan then it either wasn't cooked longed enough in hot enough oven or it sat too long before it was eaten. Make it right and it will taste great every time.
16 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Elaine, IL Reviewed: 11/09/2009
green bean casserole
This is a very good recipe but you don't have to make it sloppy. I have made this for years and my family like it because I cut down on the amount of soup and milk. Use your own judgement. It has a very good flavor.
12 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Zan Reviewed: 10/28/2009
People really LIKE this?
I realize that this is an "American Icon", but it has to be the soggiest, least flavorful and most under-seasoned casserole ever. It seems to me that to make this recipe must be practically the only time anyone would be foolish enough to buy canned French-fried onions, and that is why the recipe was invented. I'd appreciate feedback from people who like it, and would you please tell us all why? There are so many more delicious recipes for the holiday table! Aside from tradition, what's to like?
531 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  40   Viewing: 31 - 40   Page 1 2 3 4 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You