View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping Over $49
America

Coconut Cupcakes


Source: Dessert - The Grand Finale
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  11   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
Rating: 4
by: Janice, BC Reviewed: 06/27/2013
Tasty
I only got twelve small cupcakes from this recipe. The texture is like a Madeleine with coconut. I think they would be a bit lighter if they did not sit for twenty five minutes before baking. I put a plain white glaze on them and topped them with a glacé cherry half. I made them in silicone teacup moulds and they were a great hit with my friends.
5 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Nancy Reviewed: 06/13/2013
Never again
This is the last time I will use any recipe from your site. Please stop wasting my time and money with recipes that have obviously never been tested. Even using small silicone cupcake liners, there was barely enough dough to cover the bottom. And even then I could only squeeze on 20 cupcakes rather than the 24 the recipe states. The result was barely a one bite cupcake and the taste was not even as good as with a cheap grocery store box mix.
4 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: kathleen Reviewed: 06/13/2013
coconut cupcakes
First off they don't make 24. I got 14. They were easy & baked just like the directions said. They looked great. They were tasteless, very dry & I wound up throwing the whole thing away. Wouldn't make them ever again.
5 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Kirsti Reviewed: 06/12/2013
Delicious!
These turned out fantastic. I topped the cupcakes with a vanilla frosting and dipped them in coconut. I did a single batch that yielded 48 mini cupcakes. I turned the temperature down after 2 minutes of baking.
5 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Kim Reviewed: 06/11/2013
Turned out to be a coconut muffin, a little on the dry side. Says it makes 24, but it only made 12 regular sized muffins. It has a mild coconut flavor. I might experiment by adding 1 - 3 Tbps of sugar and/or mixing in crushed pineapple. Or, make it as written, but sprinkle coarse sugar on it before baking. Gave it the toothpick test at the minimum time, & it needed to bake 3 more minutes. If there is a next time, I would also place the muffin tin on a cookie sheet.
4 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: Susan, IN Reviewed: 06/10/2013
not worth effort
I was disappointed in these cupcakes. First of all, the flavor was just ok. The coconut is not enough for flavor. Then, with the regular scoop I use for cupcakes which normally make 24, this recipe made 15. The smoke alarm went off....why this recipe needs to be at 450 is beyond me. The cake was dense....not a bad cupcake, but not a good coconut one. Thank goodness for chocolate icing and added coconut on top which saved the recipe.
4 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: CARL, MA Reviewed: 06/10/2013
Burnt cupcakes
450° was too hot. The outside of the cupcakes burnt before the inside was cooked. I should have followed my instincts and baked them at a much lower temperature.
4 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: SUSAN Reviewed: 06/10/2013
Good in theory
Followed directions to the "T." End product not very good: fairly dry and very dense. I whipped up a glaze, thinking and hoping it'd help. But it didn't. Save yourself the trouble; search for an alternate recipe.
4 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: NANCY Reviewed: 06/10/2013
I will make these again.
I saw the recipe this morning and had to try it right away. The flavor was good, the texture was a little better than ok, but the size was really small. Because I wanted to try these I did half a recipe for the first time. Instead of a dozen it made 9 small cupcakes. Next time I will use the full recipe to make a dozen unlike the 2 dozen the recipe calls for.
15 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Leanne Reviewed: 06/09/2013
Can be made gluten free
My cupcakes came out more like tender muffins. I was able to substitute all-purpose gluten free flour and used finely shredded unsweetened coconut. I also added about 1 1/2 teaspoons of pure maple syrup and a splash of vanilla. We have too many strawberries growing in our garden so some diced, sugared and dusted with coconut strawberries got thrown in the batter. This recipe is definitely adaptable to add ins. I would use the recipe as a base for muffins again.
3 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  11   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards