View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping Over $49
TastingTable Sweepstakes

Mississippi Chocolate & Coffee Cake


Source: Close-up on Cakes
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  18   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
Rating: 5
by: Grace Reviewed: 04/27/2014
Easy and delicious
I made this for a friend who LOVES chocolate. When I put it in the oven, I was concerned, it seemed very loose. I reread the recipe to make sure I didn't forget the flour! It turned out amazing! Followed the recipe exactly.
2 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Susan, PA Reviewed: 12/10/2013
A Keeper, But Watch the Bake Time
This cake was so wonderful and chocolately. I made it in the evening and didn't feel like brewing a pot of coffee, so I grabbed two packets of Starbucks Via and blended with 1 and 3/4 cups of water (making it a little stronger than the normal 2 cups two packets would call for). The baking time is the only fault and reason I ranked four cups - I meant to check on at 1 hour, but got distracted and pulled the cake at 70 min. It was a little overdone, but the icing masked it.
5 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Mary, NM Reviewed: 08/20/2013
This is really good.
I substituted an equal amount of strong coffee for the bourbon because I'm not fond of the taste of liquor in desserts. It turned out even better than I hoped, deep and rich flavored. I'll definitely make this one again.
5 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Donna, MI Reviewed: 08/16/2013
OH, SO GOOD!!!
I made this with Amaretto in place of the Bourbon and it was really good. Be careful not to bake it too long as mine was done in an hour. I melted dark chocolate chips in place of the semisweet to use for the ganache topping. I also used a 3.5 oz bar of Godiva Dark Chocolate Sea Salt and did not use as much sugar nor the pinch of salt and added about 1/4 cup of dark unsweetened cocoa too. It was important to wait until it was completely cool to remove it from the pan. Great cold!
5 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Angela, CA Reviewed: 08/12/2013
great cake
I make this cake about 4 times a year, its such a hit. I don't usually do the ganache unless its a super fancy occasion as this cake truly doesn't need it; its great on its own. If you like chocolate, you need to try this cake.
10 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: susan, MD Reviewed: 08/12/2013
Everyone loves it
Rich, delicious, easy to make and everyone loves it so much. I did swap the bourbon for Caffe Lolita which is a mexican coffee alcohol. The coffee flavor is not real strong in this anyway, it just makes the chocolate sing.
4 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Maureen Reviewed: 05/20/2013
Alcohol in cooking
I'm looking forward to trying this cake. Looks fabulous! Re the bourbon: It is NOT true that all alcohol burns off when wine or liquor is added to a recipe. Depends a lot on how and how long it's cooked, how much water there is, etc. Sometimes as little as 20% is burned off. Here's one article of many out there: http://articles.sun-sentinel.com/1999-02-11/features/9902090731_1_alcohol-water-wine-or-beer
10 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: Mary Reviewed: 10/01/2012
Very disappointed!
What a waste of 2 sticks of butter and good chocolate. Made way too much batter for a standard 9-in cake pan. And 1-1/2 hrs baking time - are you kidding me!!! Cake came out very dry. Couldnt even taste the strong coffee or bourbon flavor. Next time, will cut the recipe and baking time by 1/2 and add more bourbon. Reason I gave it 2 stars was because the frosting was great.
15 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Kathy, UT Reviewed: 07/23/2012
Looks delicious
For Sherrie: there is no alcohol left in the cake after it bakes. The heat evaporates it when it is heated with the chocolate. The bourbon is there only for the flavor.
6 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Sylvie, QC Reviewed: 07/23/2012
Answer to Sherrie about the Bourbon or alcohol
Hello Sherrie, Just a note regarding your concerns about alcohol in a recipe. If there is cooking involved, any alcohol (a volatile chemical) will evaporate, and only the taste remains. This is why you never cook with vodka, since it is tasteless. If there is no cooking involved with a recipe requiring any alcohol (think of a sangria)the alcohol will be still there when you consume it. Cheers!
10 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  18   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You