Get It By ThanksgivingShipping Deadlines See Details >>
View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping Over $49

Mississippi Chocolate & Coffee Cake


Source: Close-up on Cakes
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  18   Viewing: 11 - 18   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
Rating: 4
by: Sherrie Reviewed: 03/21/2012
any Ideas?
I'm definately going to try this recipe but have a problem with the Burbon....any thoughts on what to substitute and still enhanse the flavor and keep the proper chemical reactions without the Alcohol? No, I'm not Alcoholic just an extreme light weight... that much would put me out for the night! Then there is the problem of keeping a 6 yr old foodie out of the chocolate cake (are you kidding? NOT going to happen! Houdini has nothing on this kid )
5 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Janice, CA Reviewed: 09/25/2011
This cake is WONDERFUL
It's dense and rich and chocolaty, similar to a flourless cake, with subtle hints of the bourbon and coffee, and it's not very sweet. A spring-form pan is a good idea since it puffs way up and cracks like a souffle. The cracks aren't a problem because they're barely visible once it settles and you're going to spread frosting on it anyway. Feeds at least 10-12 people.
16 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Leora, OH Reviewed: 04/22/2011
Yummy
I followed the advice of other reviewers and used a spring form pan--glad I did. The cake was well received. I think next time I may make the coffee a little stronger but this is a GREAT chocolate cake and easy to prepare.
21 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Denise, OH Reviewed: 02/28/2011
One of my FAVORITES!!!
I cannot tell you how many times I have made this cake and to rave reviews. Yes, I use a springform pan, and yes, it does crack, but after you put on the icing, it is beautiful. And the crust has a wonderful texture against the dense cake. But the real seller is the taste...It is truly wonderful!
26 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Lorna, SD Reviewed: 07/05/2010
Good, not pretty
Followed recipe exactly and it tastes good ... but there was too much batter for a standard 9-inch cake pan so had to transfer to a deeper springform pan. Cake also rose more than I expected and cracked when it was turned out of the pan.
11 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Aimee Reviewed: 08/13/2009
Super-rich with an excellent crumb.
I used whole wheat pastry flour and a spring form pan, and the results were excellent. Very rich but not too heavy, not too airy. The cake absorbed just enough of the ganache without becoming gooey inside, and surprisingly, it wasn't too sweet. Would have been phenomenal served with a drizzle of caramel sauce or a scoop of gelato. I recommend using the best possible chocolate for this recipe for it to truly be all it's meant to be.
192 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Mr. Reviewed: 07/13/2009
Insanely simple & good
Soft, chocolatey cake with a hint of coffee and bourbon. Will definitely bake this again... and again... and again! :)
29 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Acsa Reviewed: 07/07/2009
For the love of chocolate!
You'd think baking a cake for 1 1/2 hours would make it dry but I guess that's why they call for a whole cup of butter! The icing was just decadent but perfect for the chocolate lover. I'll make it again but try to lighten the calorie intake a bit...
40 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  18   Viewing: 11 - 18   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Free Shipping Over $49
Shopping Rewards