View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping Over $49
America
Advertisement

Strawberry Pound Cake


Source: Close-up on Cakes
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  9   Viewing: 1 - 9  
Rating: 3
by: Colleen Reviewed: 10/12/2014
Not bad, did need the extra sugar
I added in 1/4 cup extra sugar as was suggested and think it was the right choice. Overall though, I didn't think this cake was anything mind blowing.
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Sylvia, NC Reviewed: 05/13/2014
Disappointed
I made this cake last night. It was very good, but could have been a little sweeter. I went by directions exactly. After it had been in the ice box all night, it was hard as a rock--uneatable!!! This is the first cake I have ever made that you did not add any liquid. I know the strawberries provide some moisture, but not enough. Cake is good if you eat it the same day.
2 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Tamiko Reviewed: 05/04/2014
Easy and Very Delicious!
This was such an easy cake to make and was very delicious. The guests at my party loved it!
1 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: VICKI Reviewed: 04/21/2014
Not sweet
This cake was not sweet enough and was extremely dense. If I ever made it again, I would add 1/2 cup more sugar and use cake flour instead of regular flour. The strawberry whipped cream was the cake's saving grace.
6 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Patricia, TX Reviewed: 06/26/2012
Tasty and moist
This is a moist cake with good strawberry flavor. I used the frosting as a "dollop" on top of each slice, because I was afraid the whipped cream would break down and become watery. You may want to increase the amount of strawberry puree in the frosting, and up the number of sliced berries in the cake. It came out perfectly per the instructions. I would not substitute a lighter flour unless you don't like the texture of pound cake. Not everyone on the family liked the frosting.
8 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Penny, OR Reviewed: 06/21/2012
Easy, Quick AND Good
I made this cake for a last minute family bbq, mainly because I had an abundance of strawberries, and not much time. I didn't have almond extract or an orange, so I used vanilla and lemon peel. It was a home-run with everyone from our great grandmother to the toddler, and most of my family are serious foodies. Several were trying to figure out the "secret" ingredient...teehee, there weren't any!!!...just good old fashioned pound cake. Will use this recipe again and again.
9 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: DJ, IL Reviewed: 04/19/2011
delicious & easy
took to a large crowd gathering and received "excellent" comments. strawberries are in now and very reasonably priced which makes a household budget stretch.
14 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Earle Reviewed: 03/22/2010
Pound Cake Recipe
It would be better to use Cake Flour rather than regular unbleached flour as regualr flour produces a rather heavy dense cake whereas the cake flour produces a good texture inbetween dense and light. Also, putting strawberries into the batter creates pockets of wet dough like areas around the berries. Put them on top and call it quits
28 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Emily Reviewed: 05/01/2008
Have leftover strawberries that aren't sweet?
Go ahead and try this recipe...
I didn't have orange for zest but still made it and it turned out fine..



186 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  9   Viewing: 1 - 9  
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards