View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping Over $49
America
Advertisement

Chicken-and-Avocado Soup with Fried Tortillas


Source: Quick from Scratch - Soups and Salads
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  11   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
Rating: 5
by: CHERYL, FL Reviewed: 01/23/2014
Chicken and Avocado Soup
Wonderful recipe! I made it for lunch and brought some to a friend who gave me the Avocados. I loved it, and she loved it! I am making it for company tonight. We will see how they like it. I will definitely make this again and again. I added Cilantro as well!
1 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: joan, CT Reviewed: 03/22/2012
THE WAY TO GET AROUND THE SALT ISSUE AND STILL EAT
I ALSO WATCH MY SALT'S DUE TO MY FAMILY'S HIGH B/P AND OUR GENERAL DESIRE TO EAT HEALTHY NOW. FOR YEARS I HAVE BEEN CUTTING OUT SALT OUT OF ALMOST ALL MY RECIPES,(THE COLLEGE INN LIGHT & FAT FREE ALSO CUT OUT 50 % OF THEIR SALT-THEY HAVE IT TO 450MG'S.DON'T KNOW WHAT THE VEGETABLE ONE IS BUT IT'S A HUGE HEALTH&TASTE DIFFERENCE-I THINK YOU CAN ALSO FIND TOTAL SODIUM FREE BROTH- SEARCH THE BROTH AISLE CAREFULLY .TRY SOME NEW SPICES TO ZIP IT UP.I ALWAYS CK NUTRITION INFO BEFORE BUYING IT,JOAN
6 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: susan, IL Reviewed: 03/20/2012
tasty and fun
My family loved this soup. I added two extra avocados and way more garlic. I also used vegetable broth instead. It was great and the kids had fun helping make it. We put diced avocados on top.
9 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Sarah, UT Reviewed: 03/18/2012
Yummy!
So good and easy.
12 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Mary, OR Reviewed: 03/18/2012
Lots of sodium!
I believe the amount of sodium stated is correct, unfortunately. The recipe calls for 1 1/2 teaspoons of sodium, which is over 3,000 mg. Then there's the sodium in the chicken stock. Like so many recipes, this caters to the salt-loving taste buds of our time. Too bad, as it sounds delicious, but I won't be tyring it.
11 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: carol Reviewed: 03/18/2012
Awful! Don't Waste You Time Or Money!
I should have read the other reviews before excitedly trying what sounded like a wonderful recipe. Do not waste your time or money on this recipe is was awful. Tasteless and bland. I had 1/2 a bowl and threw the rest out.
11 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: Carol, IL Reviewed: 03/17/2012
To Brian: the sodium count is right.
The recipe calls for 1 1/2 tsp of salt, that's 3000mg sodium right there and it says 4 servings. It does indeed have that much sodium per serving.
11 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Laura, CA Reviewed: 03/17/2012
A delicious surprise!
We didn't bother with the tortilla chips but otherwise made the recipe as directed. We were very surprised at how delicious it was. We have made it three times and found that how good it is depends to some extent on how fresh and ripe the avocados are: too ripe and it has a greasy, slightly bitter taste (adding more citrus juice helps), too unripe and it is more bland and watery/chunky rather than smooth. VERY good! We also added a little extra hot sauce to taste, but we like spicy.
11 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Bunny Reviewed: 03/17/2012
Excellent with 2 changes
I used 3 avocados, reduced the water to 3 cups, and the soup was delicious!
11 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Brian Reviewed: 01/12/2012
Mistake in Nutritional Value?
I believe 1128mg sodium would be for the pot, not the individual serving? That would be roughly 61% of an entire day's intake.... divided by 4, 282mg is much more reasonable.
15 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  11   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards