View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping on orders of $40 or more
Dash of Diamonds and Pinch of Pearls Sweepstakes
Get Timely and Delicious Recipe Updates
 

Paella Salad


Source: Quick from Scratch - Soups and Salads
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  11   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
Rating: 5
by: LYNETTE Reviewed: 09/10/2013
Muy Bueno
Enjoyed very much - used pepperoni and bought shrimp but at last minute didn't use because I thought there was a lot already in the salad. Made it to take to lunch for a event and it was filling. Will use some of the suggestions from reviews i.e. seasonings next time.
3 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Ilze Reviewed: 08/22/2013
@ Mary re:Chicken Salad not Paella?
Hey, Mary! Are you reviewing the recipe or the name? Not all paellas have seafood. Paella Valenciana is meat based. I guess you've never been to Spain or a Spanish restaurant either. Sheesh.
3 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Catherine, CA Reviewed: 08/22/2013
Lovely - especially with shrimp!
As stated, "loosely based on (traditional) paella." Stands on its own; even better with a handful of shrimp, and an innovative melding of old favorites and new designs! Will have many occasions to use it. May even add some other traditional and non-traditional variations!
2 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: L Reviewed: 08/21/2013
Oh..one more thing!!
Add to my earlier review: we also added some saffron and used long grain basmati as it holds up well in salad. The saffron w/smoked paprika (reg. paprika is ok too)just sings Paella, giving it a signature golden hue and haunting flavor (NOte: Trader Joe's has saffron for good price). Alternative,you can do this w/a nice pinch of tumeric (which IS done in Spain now as saffron is a luxury there) but you won't get that flavor. Also,sliced green beans are a good veggie add (romano are my fav.)
3 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: Mary Reviewed: 08/21/2013
Good if you ve never had real Paella
Where is the seafood? The saffron?
2 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Jim Reviewed: 08/21/2013
Hey, Mary
The idea is to review the recipe, not the title. The question is, did it taste good? You really come accross condescending when you review a 1 "cup" because you ate able to show how " sophisticated" and smart you are about spanish cuisine. How pretentious.
6 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: ron, CA Reviewed: 08/21/2013
Lovely
I added shrimp to make it more of a paella and that did the trick!
2 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Lynn, CA Reviewed: 08/21/2013
Great recipe as is.. and to play with!!
To the reviewer who said "Who ever heard of paella without seafood?" & gavie it 1*....please do better reserch!!: true trad. paella is from the fields with no seafood; LOL - in Spain they only mix seafood w/meats/poultry for...TOURISTS as that is NOT trad! I love the recipe: some cool additions are addition of paella veggies like artichokes & peas,some smoked paprika, aioli (garlicy mayo)...good! and some Spanish olives (since it is a salad.) Very portable. We enjoyed this very much!
3 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: David, MN Reviewed: 03/15/2013
Wonderful!
I seldom leave recipe reviews, but this one really stands out. I will definitely make this again! It has a nice spicy heat from the chorizo and red pepper flakes. (The only chorizo I could find locally was a frozen log like Jimmy Dean sausage, so I thawed, patted it into little 1-inch bite-sized "coins" and fried them. Worked fine.) The orzo is a nice texture change from the usual rice. It kept well in the fridge for a few days; I could easily see making this for a picnic or potluck. A+!
11 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Mary Reviewed: 03/09/2013
Chicken Salad not Paella?
Who ever heard of Paella without seafood? A very mis leading title and recipe by someone who has never been to Spain or eaten in a Spanish Restaurant.
28 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  11   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You