Get It By ThanksgivingShipping Deadlines See Details >>
View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping Over $49

Paella Salad


Source: Quick from Scratch - Soups and Salads
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  11   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
Rating: 5
by: LYNETTE Reviewed: 09/10/2013
Muy Bueno
Enjoyed very much - used pepperoni and bought shrimp but at last minute didn't use because I thought there was a lot already in the salad. Made it to take to lunch for a event and it was filling. Will use some of the suggestions from reviews i.e. seasonings next time.
4 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Catherine, CA Reviewed: 08/22/2013
Lovely - especially with shrimp!
As stated, "loosely based on (traditional) paella." Stands on its own; even better with a handful of shrimp, and an innovative melding of old favorites and new designs! Will have many occasions to use it. May even add some other traditional and non-traditional variations!
3 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Ilze Reviewed: 08/22/2013
@ Mary re:Chicken Salad not Paella?
Hey, Mary! Are you reviewing the recipe or the name? Not all paellas have seafood. Paella Valenciana is meat based. I guess you've never been to Spain or a Spanish restaurant either. Sheesh.
5 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: ron, CA Reviewed: 08/21/2013
Lovely
I added shrimp to make it more of a paella and that did the trick!
3 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Lynn, CA Reviewed: 08/21/2013
Great recipe as is.. and to play with!!
To the reviewer who said "Who ever heard of paella without seafood?" & gavie it 1*....please do better reserch!!: true trad. paella is from the fields with no seafood; LOL - in Spain they only mix seafood w/meats/poultry for...TOURISTS as that is NOT trad! I love the recipe: some cool additions are addition of paella veggies like artichokes & peas,some smoked paprika, aioli (garlicy mayo)...good! and some Spanish olives (since it is a salad.) Very portable. We enjoyed this very much!
4 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: L Reviewed: 08/21/2013
Oh..one more thing!!
Add to my earlier review: we also added some saffron and used long grain basmati as it holds up well in salad. The saffron w/smoked paprika (reg. paprika is ok too)just sings Paella, giving it a signature golden hue and haunting flavor (NOte: Trader Joe's has saffron for good price). Alternative,you can do this w/a nice pinch of tumeric (which IS done in Spain now as saffron is a luxury there) but you won't get that flavor. Also,sliced green beans are a good veggie add (romano are my fav.)
4 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Jim Reviewed: 08/21/2013
Hey, Mary
The idea is to review the recipe, not the title. The question is, did it taste good? You really come accross condescending when you review a 1 "cup" because you ate able to show how " sophisticated" and smart you are about spanish cuisine. How pretentious.
7 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: Mary Reviewed: 08/21/2013
Good if you ve never had real Paella
Where is the seafood? The saffron?
4 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: David, MN Reviewed: 03/15/2013
Wonderful!
I seldom leave recipe reviews, but this one really stands out. I will definitely make this again! It has a nice spicy heat from the chorizo and red pepper flakes. (The only chorizo I could find locally was a frozen log like Jimmy Dean sausage, so I thawed, patted it into little 1-inch bite-sized "coins" and fried them. Worked fine.) The orzo is a nice texture change from the usual rice. It kept well in the fridge for a few days; I could easily see making this for a picnic or potluck. A+!
12 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Mary Reviewed: 03/09/2013
Chicken Salad not Paella?
Who ever heard of Paella without seafood? A very mis leading title and recipe by someone who has never been to Spain or eaten in a Spanish Restaurant.
29 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  11   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Free Shipping Over $49
Shopping Rewards