View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping Over $49
Culinary Escape to Spain
Get Timely and Delicious Recipe Updates
 

Potato and Cheddar Cheese Soup


Source: Quick from Scratch - Vegetable Main Dishes
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  33   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 3 4 < Back Next > 
Rating: 5
by: Nell Reviewed: 03/18/2013
GRRREAT SOUP!!!!
This soup is GRRREAT!!! It's the best potato soup we've ever eaten. The steps and ingredients are so simple. I added powdered chicken broth to the cooking water, and a bit of canned milk just before dishing-up as suggested by reviewers. It was full of flavor and creamy. Yummmm!! My husband says.."P.S. I loved it"
7 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Kristen, OH Reviewed: 03/20/2012
Just a suggestion...
This is very similar to how I make my potato soup (I call it "loaded potato soup" b/c of the bacon, onion, cheddar). However, you can impart more flavor if you use a small can of evaporated milk (NOT sweetened condensed!) and chicken broth vs. all the water. I would also add a clove of garlic and white pepper, but that's just my taste! Thanks :)
40 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Christina Reviewed: 03/20/2012
Good Stuff!!
I have been making this for a while and it is terrific! I cook the potatoes in chicken broth, using Yukon Gold potatoes with the skins left on them. Wehn the soup is all put together, I whisk it with a wire whisk 4-5 times to kind of break up the potatoes. My hubby's fave!
21 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Charles Reviewed: 03/11/2012
Just finished making this soup. I did substitue 2 cans of cream of chicken soup and 2 cups of water for the "all water." I would have used broth but was out. I, also added 2c heavy cream and....a can of beer. I can hardly wait for the evening meal to come. But I want it to sit for a few hours for flavors to meld. I know it will be even better tomorrow. Serving it with crusty bread. Thanks for the recipe. It is fantastic!
23 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Jean Reviewed: 02/10/2012
Review for Potato & Cheddar-Cheese Soup
The best I have tasted. Great job.
16 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Claudia Reviewed: 02/09/2012
YUM
I used the recipe as a "foundation" and added extra potatoes, used chicken stock, and after I used a potato masher to make it the consistency I wanted, I added a package of frozen corn and cooked it some more. It was great and had a creamy "mouth feel" without the heavy cream:) I had all of the ingredients on hand for a lovely cold winter night meal.
15 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: RuthAnn, IL Reviewed: 02/09/2012
Our favorite soup
This has become our Christmas Eve soup. I cook the bacon(1/2 pound) and then in the grease I have cut onions,celery and carrots. As soon as the carrots are only slightly tender I add the diced potatoes, water and milk. Pureeing is too much trouble. As soon as the potatoes are done I thicken it with instant potatoes. Remember the instant potatoes thicken up in a few minutes. So add and wait a bit. Add salt and pepper to taste. The men who usually don't like soup at all really like this on
18 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Arklee Reviewed: 02/09/2012
great/easy potato soup
I just gave this recipie a try, and loved it. You can make this up in about 45min, and tastes like you worked all day. If you like potato soup you will love this one
19 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Micki, FL Reviewed: 02/08/2012
NOT EVEN!
I rated this recipe a one star as is is without a doubt the worst potato soup ever. I have made potato and cheese soup for years and this recipe doesn't even compare. First off, potato soup needs chicken stock to help give it flavor. Secondly, this soup needs to have milk in it. I use 1 can of canned milk along with whole milk to give it a rich creamy texture and flavor. Baking potatoes are a must for making this soup as they break down better. This soup recipe doesn't make it!
20 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Toni, CA Reviewed: 02/08/2012
Yummy
This soup is delicious. I use chicken stock instead of water to cook the potatos in. I use an immersion stick to cream half of the potato mixture, add the rest of the cooked potatos and add some butter and a touch of cream. Great for a chilly evening as well as easy and quick.
25 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  33   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 3 4 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You