View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping Over $49
TastingTable Sweepstakes

Potato and Cheddar Cheese Soup


Source: Quick from Scratch - Vegetable Main Dishes
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  33   Viewing: 11 - 20   Page 1 2 3 4 < Back Next > 
Rating: 2
by: Jim Reviewed: 02/07/2012
Why leave it short?
When are we going to learn that stock, rather than water is almost vital when making soups? This recipe might gain a star or two more in my kitchen if this substitution was made. Paul Prudhomme says it loud and clear, "Your dish will improve 100% if you use stock in place of water in recipes".
43 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: Vanessa, MD Reviewed: 01/21/2012
Lacked flavor
I've made many potato soups, and although I found this recipe to be very simple to make, I found it lacked flavor. I ended up adding a dash more of salt and some pepper and 1/2 cup of milk.
12 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Kelly Reviewed: 12/15/2011
Easy
Easy to make and uses basic ingredients that most people have on hand. Turned out perfect.
9 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: kathleen Reviewed: 11/24/2011
filling but not tasty
I used chicken broth instead of water thinking that this would add some extra flavor. It turned out extremely bland and I had to add a lot of other spices. I will not make it again.
14 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: Melonie Reviewed: 11/15/2011
Quick but lacking
I love a good potato cheese soup and am always looking for the perfect recipe. This one is easy but I thought it was lacking flavor.
8 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Betty Reviewed: 11/07/2011
go to recipe
Similar to my go to recipe. I make 6 to 8 qts each time. Use chicken broth and milk (no water), add grated carrots for color. Put in 2 cans of diced green chilis when adding a lb+ of cheese. Serve with cheese crips and salad the first night. Family gets into leftovers so have to add broth & cooked chopped broccoli, cauliflower &/or carrots for second use. Garnish with more cheese, chopped green onions and bacon. Great soup for using a variety of left over vegetables (squash, corn, etc).
15 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: George, WI Reviewed: 11/06/2011
Short cut
I always see to be caught short for time so I used pre-cooked bacon and sauteed the onion in EVOO. Turned out great!
7 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Terri, CA Reviewed: 11/05/2011
"The Best Soup I've Ever Had"
My boyfriend told me this was the best soup he had ever had. It is so easy! I tweaked the recipe just a bit after reading the other reviews. Rather than using water, I used 2 cups of chicken broth and 2 1/2 cups of milk. I added a medium shallot, a clove of finely minced garlic and some pepper and a pinch of nutmeg to the onions and bacon grease. I used my immersion blender which worked beautifully to give me the texture I wanted. HIGHEST RECOMMENDATIONS!!!
20 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: julie Reviewed: 11/04/2011
the best
This soup is the best potato soup I've made and very quick. It is an easy recipe to play with too, we like it with jalapeno's or a little califlower MMMMMM
11 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Debbie Reviewed: 11/04/2011
to help with disappointed . . .
you might try using condensed cream of mushroom soup in the recipe and not so much water. And I make sure to cook this kind of soup down quite a bit because the potato really thickens it up.
6 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  33   Viewing: 11 - 20   Page 1 2 3 4 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You