View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping Over $49
America
Advertisement

Potato and Cheddar Cheese Soup


Source: Quick from Scratch - Vegetable Main Dishes
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  33   Viewing: 21 - 30   Page 1 2 3 4 < Back Next > 
Rating: 5
by: Debbie Reviewed: 11/04/2011
to help with disappointed . . .
you might try using condensed cream of mushroom soup in the recipe and not so much water. And I make sure to cook this kind of soup down quite a bit because the potato really thickens it up.
7 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Glenda Reviewed: 03/10/2011
Perfect for a Cold Day
This soup was easy to prepare and very cost effective. I chose to leave half of the potatoes chunky. The flavor was great. The hint of bacon was a perfect balance with the potatoes. I liked this so much I sent the recipe to my daughter-in-law who loves to cook. I will definately be making this one again. Next time I'm inviting friends...it makes a lot of soup.
15 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Alison Reviewed: 01/01/2011
Warn soup for a chilly winter day
I am learning to make soup and this was easy and delicious. I used chicken broth, pepper and pureed along with the cooked potatoes some leftover cauliflower and cheese. Thick, rich and good!
14 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Franci Reviewed: 11/17/2010
Disappointed
I'm so sorry, but this recipe is a flop. I have cooked for over 40 years and do it well. The final product seriously lacked. No body, probably due to no dairy other than the cheddar cheese. I guess it would be good if a person prefers a bland diet. Look elsewhere if you are looking for a "hearty" potato/cheese soup.
23 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Kimberly, SC Reviewed: 03/26/2010
Warmth on a Cold Winters Day
This soup was so easy, so delicious, so yummy. I followed it with the exception of cooking bacon, I have bacon grease saved in the frig. I used 2T of that to saute the onions. Then when everything was done I added the bacon bits you can find in the grocery salad aisle, not the fake crunchy kind but the real bacon bits. Super fantastic with out the smell & mess of cooking bacon, also added more cheese. Wonderful.
19 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Ashley, TX Reviewed: 03/09/2010
ABSOLUTLY WONDERFUL!
This is an amazing potato soup! The only changes I made: Instead of using 4 1/2 cups of water, I used 2 cups chicken broth and 2 1/2 cups water. I added a couple cloves of chopped garlic to the onion and cooked together, and I added pepper to taste at the end. I just mashed the potatoes in the pot with a potato masher and I used pre-grated sharp cheddar. This is a keeper! LOVE IT!
12 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Linda Reviewed: 03/01/2010
Tasty but too thick
This has either way too many potatoes or way too little liquid -- it makes paste, not soup. I used chicken broth instead of water for flavor, removed 1/3 of the potatoes before blending, added about 1C of lactose free milk (the joys of dietary restrictions!), and at least 1C more of broth/water. Because of the additional liquid, I added more cheese (some low fat shredded processed cheese has no lactose). With some cayenne and the extra potatoes added back, a tasty, creamy soup.
13 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Tom Reviewed: 01/19/2010
Good but a little bland
I liked this recipie but it was a bit bland. Next time I will add some sharp provolone or pecorino romana
11 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Lee Reviewed: 10/27/2009
Husband loves it.
I followed this recipe exactly and my family grabbed seconds. They really loved expecially my husband.
33 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Katie, WI Reviewed: 10/26/2009
Thick, Creamy, Cheesy, and Delicious
I think this is the best potato soup I have ever eaten. I'm not usually a fan of potato soups but I tried this one because of the rave reviews and I was not disappointed. I also replaced the water with skim milk and used a reduced fat (2%) sharp cheddar cheese to help make it a little healthier. I also pureed all of the soup in the blender instead of just part of it (I'm not a fan of chunky soups) which made the soup wonderfully thick and creamy. Yum! I will definitely be making this soup again!
23 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  33   Viewing: 21 - 30   Page 1 2 3 4 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards